ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from numerous academic publishers. Visit the help page. NOTE: Titles can be dropped by the publisher without prior notice.
An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
A collection of over 50 encyclopedias about business, counseling, criminology, education, geography, health, media, politics, psychology, and sociology.
Useful Books for Background Research
When you don't know enough about a topic to narrow to a research question or to formulate a thesis, it's a good idea to do some background research. Sources like subject-specific encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries can help you define unfamiliar terms and provide you with a better idea about the issues revolving around your topic.
This source gives an in-depth review or introduction of all areas of psychology. It covers theories of personality, biographies, information about certain research studies, and psychological concepts to name a few. Articles include references.
The Handbook of Psychology Online covers the broad scope of psychological science and practice, providing chapters that discuss virtually every core and contemporary topic in psychology, from established theories to recent research and developments.