Skip to main content

University Library

Mechanical Engineering

Library resources for your mechanical engineering projects and research.

Engineering Handbooks

Engineering handbooks are some of the most useful books for engineers. Handbooks are collections of data, facts, figures, formulas, and more. Many handbooks have chapters devoted to particular aspects of a discipline, for example piping or gears. Here are a few of the most frequently used mechanical engineering handbooks.

Knovel - Engineering Handbooks Online

Knovel is an online collection of over 600 engineering handbooks and reference sources. Search or browse individual books or search across the entire collection. Many of the handbooks in Knovel feature interactive tables and graphs and you can export data to Excel and other programs.

Our subscription includes the civil engineering & construction materials, electrical & power engineering, mechanics & mechanical engineering subject collections. Machinery's Handbook and other popular mechanical engineering references are in the Knovel collection.

knovel search screen

Spend a few minutes with the Knovel Support Center to learn more about the product and its special features. For best results, create your own Knovel profile. You can then easily log on from anywhere in the world, and take advantage of other features such creating your bookshelves and saving folders of information. Click My Knovel at the top of the screen. You'll be prompted to create your own username and password.

My Knovel

Find More Handbooks

Some handbooks are devoted to broad topics like Mechanical Engineering or Civil Engineering. Other handbooks are more specialized and focus on narrower topics such as piping, lighting, or quality control.

Do a keyword search in OneSearch. Use "handbook" as one of your keywords.

In this example, using the asterisk * at the end of the word "gear" will find gear, gears, gearing, etc.