You can search for online encyclopedia articles using the OneSearch!
Use the search box on the library homepage. Change the dropdown menu to "Articles."
Next, uncheck the Scholarly only box beneath the "Refine your search" menu to the left of your search results.
Then check the Reference box under the "Format" menu.
Your search results will now be narrowed to reference books (the kinds of books that you use to look stuff up in but that almost nobody reads all the way through), the majority of which will be encyclopedias. Example:
Click the "full text" links to read the articles.
When you are on campus, the articles will open up. When you are off campus, input your bronco username and password.
From the Publisher: "The four-volume Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World offers comprehensive coverage of the ancient world, from prehistory to the fall of Rome, including Western and non-Western cultures and civilizations. An introduction outlines the key milestones in the development of human society, from the peoples of the Ice Age whose way of life was so vastly different from ours to the citizens of Greece and Rome whom we easily recognize from history books...Each entry explores a specific topic across the entire world, beginning with an introduction that outlines the major developments in chronological sequence, followed by subsections on the following centers of civilization: Africa, Egypt, the Middle East, Asia and the Pacific, Europe, Greece, Rome, and the Americas. Each entry concludes with a list of 'see also' references to related entries, followed by a further reading list of books, articles, and Web sites on the topic. Primary source documents, sidebars, and more than 250 black-and-white photographs and maps supplement the text."
Consists of 450 alphabetically arranged entries covering countries, regions, geographic features, cultural groups, personalities, and general subjects such as body adornment and clothing, oral tradition, and writing systems.
The OneSearch allows you to search across multiple online encyclopedias at one time, but in some cases you might prefer to search within one subject-specific encyclopedia that you know is relevant to your topic. Take a look at the examples below:
This encyclopedia describes Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, and rites and ceremonies. It also explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.