Guides: ACC 4310 Introduction to Taxation: Home

Login Instructions

Many of the resources featured here require that you login with your Bronco name and password. If you've forgotten it, please reset your password here. If you do not have a Bronco name and password, please claim your account here. For help with your Bronco name and password, visit the Tech Help Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.

Recommended Databases

Thomson/Reuters Checkpoint Edge
Tax research. Watch how-to videos (free registration required).
Westlaw
Law, business and news. Watch a training video.
A comprehensive legal, business, and news database. LEGAL CONTENT includes U.S. federal and state case law, regulations, statutes, administrative codes, legislative history, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence 2d, Black’s Law Dictionary, European Union case law and related legal publications. BUSINESS CONTENT includes EDGAR Filings and Disclosures, Company Investigator (including private companies), and business and trade publications. NEWS CONTENT includes U.S. state, national and international newspapers, magazines, blogs, radio and television transcripts, and congressional testimony.

Need a book or article we don't have?

Interlibrary Loan
Free to all CPP students, faculty, and staff. Request books from other CSU campuses or other universities and get them delivered to the Bronco Lockers for easy pickup. Request articles not available in our databases and get them as a PDF download in just a few days!

Recommended Websites

California Board of Accountancy
Regulates the accounting profession primarily through its authority to license accounting professionals, including individuals and CPA firms.
California Employment Development Department (EDD)
Administers Job Service, Unemployment Insurance (UI), State Disability Insurance (SDI), Workforce Investment, and Labor Market Information programs. Handles the audit and collection of payroll taxes and maintains employment records for California workers.
California Franchise Tax Board
Responsible for administering California's personal income tax and corporation tax programs.
California Revenue and Taxation Code
California Secretary of State - Business Programs
Registers and authenticates business entities and trademarks in California.
California Society of CPAs
Professional association for CPAs. Provides continuing education and networking opportunities.
California State Board of Equalization
Responsible for administering property taxes, sales and use taxes, excise taxes, fuel taxes, and environmental fees in California.
Internal Revenue Service (IRS.gov)
U.S. tax collection agency. Administers the Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress.
Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER)
Provided by the Federal Judiciary, this online service allows users to obtain case and docket information from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts.
U.S. Code (via Legal Information Institute at Cornell University Law School)
Browse or search by title or chapter number.
U.S. Court of Federal Claims
Handles claims against the United States by individuals, corporations, states and localities, Indian tribes and nations, and foreign nationals and governments regarding taxes, government contracts, intellectual property, and other issues.
U.S. Tax Court
Resolves disputes between taxpayers and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Cite Your Sources!

La Geode, by Samyra Serin
Photo by S. Serin (2008)

When creating your project, remember to cite everything you did not write / create / think up on your own, including images / graphs / charts / maps / datasets you borrow from online sources. Below are some tools to help you cite your sources correctly.

Google Scholar
Works best for books and scholarly articles. Search for a title, then click on the "Cite" button. Includes the following styles: APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Vancouver.
Citation Machine
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Check your paper for plagiarism errors.
Zotero
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Free registration to save bibliographies. Optional download for desktop version.

To see examples, visit the following websites:

APA Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Includes guidelines on formatting and citations as well as sample papers.
APA Style Guidelines at APA.ORG
Includes guidelines on paper format (headings, fonts, etc.), tables and figures, style, grammar, as well as in-text citations and references, along with sample papers.
Chicago Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Chicago Style on ChicagoManualOfStyle.org
MLA Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
ACM Citation Style at ACM.ORG
IEEE Reference Guide at IEEE.ORG
IEEE Style Manual at IEEE.ORG

To learn more about the importance of academic integrity, please see

Videos on different types of plagiarism
Provided by the Office of Student Conduct & Integrity at Cal Poly Pomona.