Paul's Spotify PlaylistKnovel is an online collection of over 600 engineering handbooks and reference sources. Search or browse individual books or search across the entire collection. Many of the handbooks in Knovel feature interactive tables and graphs and you can export data to Excel and other programs.
Books are useful for background information and for getting an overview of your topic. While journal articles will have the latest research and developments, they are often focused on a very narrow aspect of a topic. So start your project by looking for books on your topic. Get an overview and learn about the terminology used to describe your topic. Once you have the "big picture" you can then use the engineering databases (Find Articles tab) to find journal articles on your topic.
Handbooks can also help you get an overview or background on a topic. Here are a few examples of the many available for Civil Engineering topics:
Engineering Hydrology by
Beginning with the basics of water resources and hydrologic cycle, the book contains detailed discussions on simulation and synthetic methods in hydrology, rainfall-runoff analysis, flood frequency analysis, fundamentals of groundwater flow, and well hydraulics. Special emphasis is laid ongroundwater budgeting and numerical methods to deal with situations where analytical solutions are not possible. The book has a balanced coverage of conventional techniques of hydrology along with the latest topics, which makes it equally useful to practising engineers.
Hydrology and Water Resources Engineering by
The ever increasing demand for the supply of fresh water has given rise to the need for optimal management of water resources worldwide. Hydrology plays the central role in the development and management of water resources and therefore, the protection of the environment. Hydrology forms a part of many diverse fields such as agriculture, civil engineering, environmental engineering, geology and earth sciences, as well as forestry and meteorology.Written specifically for professionals dealing with water resources planning, development, and management, Hydrology and Water Resources focuses on surface water hydrology. It covers hydrologic processes, analysis, and design. The book illustrates the terms of the hydrologic cycle and discusses the possible methods of their estimation. The author underscores the role of statistics and probabilities and covers precipitation, infiltration, evaporation, stream flow-runoff estimation, evapotranspiration, hydrograph, flood estimation and routing, reservoir, sedimentation, and more.The author emphasizes the applicability of the text materials to real-world situations. Using data from the field, a large number of hydologic design problems have been worked out for each chapter to illustrate the analysis and design procedures. Whether a student, researcher, or working in the field, you need a reference written in a simple, lucid style. You need a resource with authoritative information. You need Hydrology and Water Resources Engineering.
Fundamentals of Hydrology by
Fundamentals of Hydrology is a lively and accessible introduction to the study of hydrology at university level. Structured into three defined sections, it provides undergraduates with an understanding of hydrological processes, a knowledge of the techniques used to assess water resources and an-up-to date overview of water resource management. Throughout the text examples and case studies from around the world are used to clearly explain ideas and techniques. Chapter summaries, essay questions, guides to further reading and a glossary are also included.
Progress in Modern Hydrology by
Hydrology is vital to human civilisations as well as to natural ecosystems, yet it has only emerged as a distinct scientific discipline during the last 50 years or so. This book reviews the development of modern hydrology primarily through the experiences of the multidisciplinary team of scientists and engineers at Wallingford, near Oxford, who have been at the forefront of many of the developments in UK hydrological research. These topics include: * The development of basic understanding through the collection of data with specialised instrumentation in experimental basins * The study of extreme flows - both floods and droughts * The role moisture in the soil * Studies of the processes controlling evaporation * Water resource studies * Modelling and prediction of the extremes of flow improved * Understanding of water quality issues * A widening recognition of the importance of an ecosystem approach * Meeting the challenges of climate change, * Data handling * Future developments in hydrology and the pressures which generate them. Readership: hydrologists in both academia and a wide range of applied fields such as civil engineering, meteorology, geography and physics, as well as advanced students in earth science, environmental science and physical geography programmes worldwide.