Learn more about doing research from this collection of online tutorials and videos.
Important Reference Works for Chemical Engineering
The Library has many books, journals, and databases for chemical and materials engineering research. The two items listed below are widely known and frequently used by chemical engineers. Get to know them!
The 27 volume print edition is available in Reference (2nd floor). Use the the title link to connect to the online edition. "Kirk Othmer" should be your starting point for any chemical engineering research. It includes extensive articles on chemicals, processes, and more.
A comprehensive handbook covering all aspects of chemical engineering. Includes formulas, extensive tables, diagrams, and charts, properties, equipment and processes. This handbook goes by the nickname "Perry's". The title link goes to the electronic edition. Print copies are available in Reference and Reserve.
OneSearch is the Library's all purpose search interface. OneSearch brings in search results (books, articles, more) from the Library Catalog and most of our databases. OneSearch is still under development and has some quirks. Take a look at our OneSearch FAQ to learn more.
IMPORTANT! OneSearch does not actually search everything. OneSearch does NOT search Compendex, our primary engineering database, and it does not search the full text of other important engineering resources such as IEEE Xplore or Knovel.
Go ahead and try OneSearch, but for most of your engineering research you will have better results if you use one of the databases recommended for your major. Look for the Databases link in the Featured Links area of the Library homepage.