Skip to main content

University Library

Endnote Online

Learn how to use Endnote Online to manage your citations!

Librarian

Julie Shen's picture
Julie Shen
Contact:
Hello! I'm the Business and Computer Science Librarian.

I am available to meet with you by appointment. Email me and let's set up a time to chat. If you can't come to campus, we can meet by phone or video conference. I am also happy to answer questions by email.

During 2018-19 I am splitting my time between the Library and the Academic Senate. My office in the Library is 15-2334D. It's a bit hard to find. Please stop by the Knowledge Center on the 2nd floor of the Library and ask for me there. My office in the Senate is 98-P2-8. It's on the 2nd floor of the pointy building, classroom side. Here's a photo of its location.

Introduction

Endnote Online is a free resource that can be used to create and manage citations for all your research projects. To get started, go to https://access.clarivate.com/#/login?app=endnote and register for a free account!

Create a Reference Manually in Endnote Online

Like many other citation management tools, Endnote Online allows you to create new references manually. This allows for maximum flexibility because you can include references beyond just books and articles, such as reports, maps, films, government documents, web pages, etc. To create a reference manually, click on COLLECT → NEW REFERENCE. Choose your REFERENCE TYPE using the drop-down menu, and then fill out the form with as much information as you can.

Image of how to create a new reference manually

Add a Reference Directly from Web of Science

If you are doing research using the Library's Web of Science database, you can add references directly from your search results to your EndNote Online library.

Try this now! Go to the Library Databases, choose Web of Science Core Collection. Type a few words describing your topic and click SEARCH.

To add references:

Click the box next to a record. Then click SAVE TO ENDNOTE ONLINE. This will open a SEND TO MY.ENDNOTE.COM dialog box showing how many records are selected. Use the RECORD CONTENT drop-down menu to choose how the records will be added to your EndNote Online library. Click SEND. When the page refreshes, there will be an "EN" icon next to records that were added to your EndNote Online library.

Image of Send to EndNote online button in Web of Science database

Image of "EN" icon in Web of Science database indicating search results that are in your EndNote online library

Direct Export from EBSCO Databases to Endnote Online

If you are doing research using the Library's EBSCO databases, you can directly export your citations to Endnote Online.

Try this now! Go to the Library Databases, choose Academic Search Premier or another of our 20+ EBSCO databaseS, such as Business Source Premier, ERIC, or PsycINFO. Type a few words describing your topic and click SEARCH. Click on a title of interest to you. In the menu on the right, click on EXPORT → DIRECT EXPORT TO ENDNOTE WEB → SAVE. 

 

Image of EBSCO Export Manager

Export/Save from Proquest Databases to Endnote Online

If you are doing research using the Library's Proquest databases, you can save a reference in Endnote Online using this two-step process:

1. In the menu on the right, click SAVE and choose RIS (WORKS WITH ENDNOTE...). Then click CONTINUE. This will download an RIS file to your computer.

Image of the Save menu in Proquest Databases

2. Using Endnote Online, click COLLECT → IMPORT REFERENCES. Click FILE and select the RIS file you downloaded from Proquest. For IMPORT OPTION, choose PROQUEST.  For TO, if you do not want to select a group of references, just choose [UNFILED].

Image of how to import references from Proquest into Endnote Online

Import References from Google Scholar to Endnote Online

Using Google Scholar, you can easily save your references in Endnote Online using this two-step process.

  1. Once you find an article or book you want to use, click CITE → ENDNOTE. This will save an ENW file to your computer.
  2.  Using Endnote Online, click COLLECT → IMPORT REFERENCES. 
    • FILE → select the ENW file you just downloaded from Google Books. 
    • IMPORT OPTION → select ENDNOTE IMPORT.
    • TO → if you do not want to select a group of references, just choose [UNFILED].

Import References from Google Books to Endnote Online

Using Google Books, you can easily save your references in Endnote Online using this two-step process.

  1. Once you find a book you want to use, click ABOUT THIS BOOK. Then scroll all the way to the bottom of the page and click on EXPORT CITATION ENDNOTE. This will save an ENW file to your computer.
  2.  Using Endnote Online, click COLLECT → IMPORT REFERENCES.
    • FILE → select the ENW file you just downloaded from Google Books.
    • IMPORT OPTION → select ENDNOTE IMPORT.
    • TO → if you do not want to select a group of references, just choose [UNFILED].

Import References from Endnote, Reference Manager, or ProCite to Endnote Online

Create a Bibliography using Endnote Online

To create a Bibliography, Works Cited, or References that you can copy and paste into your research project, follow these steps.

  • Click FORMAT → BIBLIOGRAPHY.
  • REFERENCES → if you did not group your references, choose [UNFILED].
  • BIBLIOGRAPHIC STYLE → select the style you need for your project. The most popular styles are MLA, APA, and Chicago. Endnote Online also includes a vast array of journal-specific styles, such as JAMA, Science, Nature, etc.
  • FILE FORMAT → if you plan to copy and paste this into a Microsoft Word document, RTF should work well. For all others, select HTML.