Skip to main content

University Library

Hip Hop and Activism February 2017

This resource guide provides resources on Hip Hop and Activism to assist students in learning more about the topics and supports the events through out the month.

Online Resources

The Hip Hop Archives

Started in 2002 at Harvard University, this archive supports scholarship and research into the knowledge, art, culture, materials, organizations, movements and institutions of Hip Hop. This archive acquires material culture associated with Hip Hop in the U.S. and throughout the world.

Cornell's Hip Hop Collection

The mission of the Cornell Hip Hop Collection (CHHC) is to collect and make accessible the historical artifacts of Hip Hop culture and to ensure their preservation for future generations. 

The Collection features: hundreds of party and event flyers ca. 1977-1985; thousands of early vinyl recordings, cassettes and CDs; film and video; record label press packets and publicity; black books, photographs, magazines, books, clothing, and more.

There are many online resources.

The Center for Black Music Research (CBMR)

Founded at Columbia College Chicago in 1983, the CBMR is an independent research unit of Columbia College Chicago devoted to documentation, research, preservation, and dissemination of information about the history of black music on a global scale.

This website is about hip hop culture and news by radio host Sway Calloway, a music-news personality since the 1990s. 

Ambrosia for Heads

This magazine contains current news about hip hop culture and streams newly released content.

Wax Poetics

This magazine focuses on music context. It provides extensive commentary on old and new music and artists.

This multi-genre, multi-platform website offers breaking music news, videos, artist interviews, exclusive performances, and original programming.