History

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from numerous academic publishers. Visit the help page. NOTE: Titles can be dropped by the publisher without prior notice.

This collection includes over 8,000 ebooks covering a range of academic topics. Watch a how-to video.

The GVRL collection includes encyclopedias and other reference works supporting a wide range of academic disciplines.

The Humanities E-Book collection includes nearly 4000 ebooks. Subject focus is the humanities disciplines and area studies.

Multi-subject database; articles from journals & other publications. Covers business, education, history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, science, and technology.

Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Included with Web of Science. Subject coverage includes archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion. 1991 to present.

This database includes the full text of over 250 volumes of the Cambridge Histories series on subjects such as Latin American, British, American, World and regional history; the history of philosophy, music, literary studies, religious studies, science, economics, language and linguistics, theatre and performing arts, political and social theory, and warfare.

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses on the humanities and social sciences. Full text Included.

Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada.

Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.

Includes over 300 full text scholarly journals in humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Dates vary, 1990 to present.

The Social Science/Humanities Library is a collection of over 1,480 online social science/humanities journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines. Use the search function to find titles and articles. The Social Science/Humanities Library title list also provides direct URL links to the individual journals. All currently subscribed journals are also available and accessible.

Content includes American history, history of science, medicine technology, history of banking, finance, and commerce, women's history, material culture, children's life, internal improvements, slavery and abolition, the Civil War and Reconstruction, social movements, popular culture, and popular literature. From the Colonial and Early Republic Eras (1691-1820).

Content includes American history, history of science, medicine technology, history of banking, finance, and commerce, women's history, material culture, children's life, internal improvements, slavery and abolition, the Civil War and Reconstruction, social movements, popular culture, and popular literature. From the Jacksonian Era (1821-1837)

Content includes American history, history of science, medicine technology, history of banking, finance, and commerce, women's history, material culture, children's life, internal improvements, slavery and abolition, the Civil War and Reconstruction, social movements, popular culture, and popular literature. From the Reconstruction era (1866-1877)

Content includes American history, history of science, medicine technology, history of banking, finance, and commerce, women's history, material culture, children's life, internal improvements, slavery and abolition, the Civil War and Reconstruction, social movements, popular culture, and popular literature. From the Antebellum and Civil War eras.

Content includes American history, history of science, medicine technology, history of banking, finance, and commerce, women's history, material culture, children's life, internal improvements, slavery and abolition, the Civil War and Reconstruction, social movements, popular culture, and popular literature. From the era of Westward Expansion.

This primary source collection of the ACLU's records focuses on free speech, civil rights and the Civil Rights Movement, citizenship, race, gender, immigration, discrimination, and issues related to the U.S. Supreme Court and American legal history. Documentation includes information on the inner workings of the organization, case files, correspondence, newspaper clippings, political cartoons, manuscripts, and more, including the documents from the ACLU's Southern Regional Office.

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America (formerly American Indian Histories and Cultures) provides a collection of materials related to Native Americans and indigenous peoples of Canada, Mesoamerica, and the Caribbean, including content from the earliest contact with Europeans to contemporary civil rights issues, in the form of books, legal and financial records, diaries, travel journals, photographs, maps, newspapers, artwork, treaties, and tribal records.

Content includes primary sources regarding African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.

Includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Materials are diverse, including not only books and broadsides but also Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed printed ephemera by many well-known and lesser-known authors. Captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain, and is essential in order to understand the context of the French, Industrial, and American Revolutions. Contains more than 32 million pages of text and over 205,000 individual volumes, all fully searchable.

Gale Primary Sources is an online collection of primary sources with access to books, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more. This resource includes access to: Archives Unbound, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Sabin Americana, History of the Americas (1500-1926), and The Times of London Digital Archive (1785-2014).

HeinOnline includes access to:

• Civil Rights and Social Justice: This database contains a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislations, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, A curated list of scholarly articles, a varied collection of books on many civil rights topics, and a list of prominent civil rights organizations are also included.

• Gun Regulation and Legislation in America: Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles and more.

• LGBTQ+ Rights: This database charts the gay rights movement in America, showing the civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries, as well as the inequalities that still exist today. All titles in this collection have been assigned one or more title-level subjects relating to their scope, and are further divided into six subcollections: Marriage and Family; Employment Discrimination; Military Service; AIDS and Health Care; Public Spaces and Accommodations; and Historical Attitudes and Analysis.

• Open Society Justice Initiative : The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for Open Society's broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. The Justice Initiative publishes reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice. Beyond their publications, the Justice Initiative represents individuals before domestic and international human rights tribunals. Their advocacy work targets national and regional policymakers and governments to advance human rights and the rule of law, and they support local, national, and international efforts to expand access to justice.

• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law: The database contains legal and non-legal materials regarding slavery in the United States. It includes colony status, federal statues, and state cases on slavery. Also provides access to all Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880. Included are English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century, modern histories of slavery, and modern law review articles on the subject. Much of the non-legal material in this collection is based on the holdings of the Buffalo Public Library which contains nineteenth century pamphlets and books on slavery.

This primary source collection focuses on the political, social, and cultural history of indigenous peoples from the 16th century through the 20th century. Documentation include newspapers, indigenous language materials, dictionaries, religious texts, photographs, maps, reports, and legal materials. Topics include delegations and federal relations, trade, communication, wars, laws, language/linguistics, education, assimilation, relocation, and civil rights.

An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.

This primary source collection contains manuscripts, ephemera, documents, newspapers, journals, and literature related to women's movements, feminist theory and activism, the social, political, and professional achievements of women, women's education, women's health and mental health, and other gender issues throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. The archives cover multiple geographic regions and multilingual content.

Primary source newspaper content from 1800-1899, featuring full-text content and images from about 500 newspapers from a range of territories and urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. Includes topics such as the American Civil War, the Confederacy, African-American culture and history, Western migration, immigration, elections and Antebellum-era life. Funded by the History Department.

Full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America (formerly American Indian Newspapers) contains a collection of more than 200 years of Indigenous print journalism over more than 9,000 individual editions from the perspective of Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada in both native languages and English.

Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to thousands of full text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic and minority presses in America. Of the more than 1.8 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are written in Spanish.

Full text access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Times of London, and Wall Street Journal.

Hispanic American Newspapers features hundreds of newspapers published by Hispanics, including many from the 19th century that have long since ceased publication as well as papers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Users can compare and contrast Hispanic views on most major themes in American life, beginning in 1808 when the first Spanish-language newspaper in the United States was printed in New Orleans.

Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel, the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Searchable with full text.

The L.A. Times (1881-2015) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

The L.A. Times offers full page and article images; covers 1985 to present.

The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. 

Complete digital edition of The Times (London) newspaper. Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of a specific article or a complete page. To search full-text, change drop-down box from keyword to "text." The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Funded by the History Department.

Periodical, Book and Other Resource Titles. Free full text articles on sports history and books and studies on other aspects of sport.