The databases below contain scholarly journal articles, as well as popular magazine and newspaper articles. Look for the scholarly/peer reviewed option on the home screen of many of these databases before beginning your search. Reading the description of each database below will help you decide which is most appropriate for your research needs.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO): General purpose, multi-subject database.
JSTOR:Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music.
Lexis-Nexis:Provides full text access to 7,500 legal, business and news journals. Includes a wide range of business, legal, and reference publications. Also provides the full text of legal documents such as US and State Supreme Court Cases, federal and state statutes, tax regulations and cases, and federal and state regulations.
Los Angeles Times Historical: The L.A. Times (1881-1987) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
New York Times Historical: The New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text.
ProQuest Databases: General purpose, multi-subject database.
Sabin Americana 1500-1926: An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.
Web of Science: A multidisciplinary database including the social sciences and humanities.
Remember to use the “Find It!” link to search for the full text of articles. Use "Find It!" when an article citation in your database results list does not have a full text link.
Some additional sources
American Memory from the Library of Congress: "American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning."
National Security Archive from The George Washington University: "An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States."
Primary sources: Many good sites can be found by copying the text in the brackets below and doing a Google search:
< history of american science and technology primary sources site:edu >