Skip to main content

University Library

Websites - Theatre and Dance

Theatre , Drama, and Dance.

Subject Librarian

Alyssa Loera's picture
Alyssa Loera
Contact:
(909) 869 - 4942

Theatre and Drama

PLAYBILL.com ® This site contains news and current events related to the theater world: Broadway, off Broadway, regional, London, etc. 

IBDB Internet Broadway Database ® “...records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics.”

American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1970-1920 American popular culture as it appeared on variety stages, from the Library of Congress. Paybills, programs, scripts (also in Yiddish), and more.

Performing Arts in America, 1875-1923 This is a searchable database of 16,000 objects from the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.

The Development of Scenic Spectacle From Appalachian State University, “A Site Devoted to the Study of Rennassance and Baroque Theatrical Spectacle”. Computer-generated reproductions of scenes from the 16th C on. Also links to full text articles.

Online Guide to the History of Theater A comprehensive listing of annotated sites for the history of theater from the earliest times to the present. Includes Asian theater.

Didaskalia; Journal for Ancient Performance Includes full articles online.

stageplays.com “Based in the UK and the USA, we can provide virtually every play and musical currently published in the English language.”

stageplays.com Playwrights on the Web Post your play on the Internet! “ If you're a producer or director, this international database of playwrights and their websites gives you a discreet and convenient way to discover new plays and fresh talent Conversely, if you're a playwright it offers a free and unique way to showcase and disseminate your work... ” Plays are organized by genre, origin, etc.

IPL2 Theatre Annotated sites about theater and drama.

WWW Virtual Library Theatre and Drama A gateway site that includes links to sources for Electronic Text Archives and Plays Online and for Journals Online.