Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

GET HELP

 Call us!

Call the Research Help Desk @ (909) 869-3084


  Visit us!

Drop in at the Research Help Desk on the 2nd Floor of the University Library.


  Find a Subject Librarian

Subject Librarians can help with in-depth research


 Text a Librarian

Text or email us at libraryhelp@cpp.edu


 Chat with a Librarian

Need more help? Chat in real-time with a librarian!

 

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
This primary source collection of the ACLU's records focuses on free speech, civil rights and the Civil Rights Movement, citizenship, race, gender, immigration, discrimination, and issues related to the U.S. Supreme Court and American legal history. Documentation includes information on the inner workings of the organization, case files, correspondence, newspaper clippings, political cartoons, manuscripts, and more, including the documents from the ACLU's Southern Regional Office.
New
American Indian Histories and Cultures provides a collection of materials related to Native Americans and indigenous peoples of Canada, Mesoamerica, and the Caribbean, including content from the earliest contact with Europeans to contemporary civil rights issues, in the form of books, legal and financial records, diaries, travel journals, photographs, maps, newspapers, artwork, treaties, and tribal records.
New
American Indian Newspapers contains a collection of more than 200 years of Indigenous print journalism over more than 9,000 individual editions from the perspective of Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada in both native languages and English.
New
Architecture Design & Practice Online, part of Bloomsbury Architecture Library, includes over 200 peer-reviewed e-books on studio design and professional practice. Subjects include digital design, historic preservation, lighting design, materials, sketching/drawing, sustainability, urban design, and other specialized practices. Content also searchable by exploring the title list.
New
This primary source collection features content from newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more on LGBTQ history and activism, the LGTBQ rights movement, the HIV/AIDS crisis, cultural studies, psychology, sociology, health, political science, policy studies, human rights, and gender studies.
New
Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, the Chicano Database from EBSCO is a bibliographic index that includes over 70,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources, including newspapers, books, and book chapters, focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
New
Search and browse by book title for access to over 1,000 full-text major reference works, textbooks, e-books, and handbooks through Elsevier's Focus Collection in ScienceDirect related to earth and planetary sciences. Use the Advanced Search in ScienceDirect to find specific book chapters.
New
Search and browse by book title for access to full-text major reference works, textbooks, e-books, and handbooks through Elsevier's Focus Collection in ScienceDirect related to environmental science. Use the Advanced Search in ScienceDirect to find specific book chapters.
New
Ethnic Diversity Source provides 465 full-text, peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers; over 4,500 e-books; biographies; and over 6,300 primary source documents covering the lived experiences of African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinx Americans, Native Americans, and other ethnic groups. NOTE: Access available through June 2024.
New
A searchable database on over 7,000 natural human languages. Provides profiles and use and speaker statistics for every language and country in the world. Includes maps of where each language is spoken. NOTE: Access available through April 1, 2023. If assistance is needed in navigating and accessing this database please set up an appointment with a Librarian by emailing library@cpp.edu.
New
Fashion Business Cases, part of Bloomsbury Fashion Central, offers access to more than 260 cases in international scope related to the challenges facing the business of fashion, sustainability, technology, ethics, marketing, branding, design/product development, consumer markets, consumer behavior, supply chain management, fashion media, entrepreneurship, and leadership. Content also searchable by exploring the list of cases.
Trial
GEOBASE, as part of Elsevier's Compendex/Engineering Village, is an index database containing abstracts from more than 2,000 journals related to earth sciences, ecology, environmental sciences, geography, geology, oceanography, and nature conservation. The University Library has trial access to GEOBASE through June 30, 2023.
New
Following the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entry into World War II in December 1941, the Roosevelt administration decided that for reasons of "military necessity," the government would evacuate all persons of Japanese heritage from the West Coast states. The Records of the War Relocation Authority document the day-today running of the 10 relocation camps from 1942-1946. The collection is organized by relocation center. Records include reports and correspondence on issues such as security, education, health, vocational training, agriculture, food, and family welfare.
New
This primary source collection focuses on the political, social, and cultural history of indigenous peoples from the 16th century through the 20th century. Documentation include newspapers, indigenous language materials, dictionaries, religious texts, photographs, maps, reports, and legal materials. Topics include delegations and federal relations, trade, communication, wars, laws, language/linguistics, education, assimilation, relocation, and civil rights.
New
Full-page and article images from the Los Angeles Sentinel, the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S., covering issues concerning the African-American community and its readers. Searchable with full text.
New
Race Relations in America houses an archive of documents in various formats including hundreds of hours of audio recordings and photographs covering topics including desegregation of schools, migration of African Americans, the Civil Rights Movement, and racial tensions in the United States.
New
Scopus is Elsevier's abstracting and indexing database that indexes content from thousands of scholarly books, journals, and conference proceedings over a wide range of disciplines. Scopus also provides access to detailed author profiles and analytical tools to compare journals, citation impact, and citation trends.
New
SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive and full-text access and coverage of sport, sports medicine, fitness, health, and related discipline. Subjects covered include athletic training, coaching, consumer health, exercise science, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, occupational health and safety, orthopedics, physical education, physical therapy, sociology of sports, sports psychology, sports injuries and rehabilitation, sports management, and sports sciences.
New
This primary source collection contains manuscripts, ephemera, documents, newspapers, journals, and literature related to women's movements, feminist theory and activism, the social, political, and professional achievements of women, women's education, women's health and mental health, and other gender issues throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. The archives cover multiple geographic regions and multilingual content.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...