Womxn's Studies

Virginia Hamilton Adair (1913-2004) was a poet and an educator. Her collection contains poems, book manuscripts, subject files, correspondence, personal papers, original drawings, autobiographical accounts, notes, poem lists, and printed matter pertaining to her poetry and her life.

Dr. Gertrude C. Boland was a Cal Poly Pomona professor from 1957 to 1978. She was one of the first female faculty members at Cal Poly Pomona and also served as the acting dean for the School of Arts. Her collection contains memos from Cal Poly President Robert Kramer and other faculty members, an agenda of an economics committee meeting, clippings about Boland and other topics, and a resolution naming Boland a "Professor Emeritus."

The Cal Poly Women's Club was a campus organization established by the wives of faculty and staff which operated on and off campus from 1946 to 1998. While working to promote the University through social and cultural events, and fostering lifelong friendships, the Club's main objective was to raise funds for various scholarships offered to students who contributed to Cal Poly Pomona through leadership and service. The funds were raised by Club-hosted events held annually, such as the fashion and quilt shows. The Cal Poly Women's Club also held welcome dinners at the beginning of each school year for all faculty and their spouses, until the number of guests grew too large. The collection includes administrative records; newsletters produced by the Club, materials on scholarship; and photographs, scrapbooks, and realia.

The collection contains interviews conducted by faculty, staff, and students from Cal Poly Pomona about the history of the university, including interviews about the Voorhis School for Boys and the Voorhis Unit in San Dimas, which were on the land that eventually became the first campus of Cal Poly Pomona; the development of the Kellogg campus in Pomona; the hiring of the first female faculty members at Cal Poly Pomona in 1957; the Cal Poly Women's Club; and the university's athletics programs

Deborah Meadows, Professor Emerita at Cal Poly Pomona, is an accomplished poet, playwright, and essayist. The collection contains journals and magazines in which Meadows' poetry has been published and other materials related to her writing.

The Student Wives Poly Anna's Club was established in 1948 and disbanded in 1975. The club held meetings, events, gatherings, and even created and funded a scholarship for the university.

These records contain a scrapbook that documents the beginnings of the group, photos of members and flyers of events/activities (1960s).

Sigma Theta Phi was chartered in 1962 as the first honorary service sorority.