Guides: Multiracial Research Guide: Databases/Journals

Librarian Profile

Library Staff

Subjects: Ethnic & Women’s Studies, Social Work

Databases

America: History and Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. The database also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC (Education)
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education. ERIC provides access to records of journal articles and other education-related materials from 1966-present. A key component of ERIC is its collection of "grey literature" in education (such as conference papers and reports), which is largely available in full text PDF format. Learn more about this resource or watch an introductory how-to video.
Ethnic Diversity Source
Ethnic Diversity Source provides 465 full-text, peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers; over 4,500 e-books; biographies; and over 6,300 primary source documents covering the lived experiences of African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinx Americans, Native Americans, and other ethnic groups.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch provides access to thousands of full text newspaper, magazine, and journal articles from the ethnic and minority presses in America. Of the more than 1.8 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are written in Spanish.
JSTOR
Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.
Race Relations in America
Race Relations in America houses an archive of documents in various formats including hundreds of hours of audio recordings and photographs covering topics including desegregation of schools, migration of African Americans, the Civil Rights Movement, and racial tensions in the United States.

Journals

Journal of critical mixed race studies
The Journal of Critical Mixed Race Studies (JCMRS) is a peer-reviewed online interdisciplinary journal dedicated to Critical Mixed Race Studies (CMRS). JCMRS functions as an open-access forum for critical mixed race studies and will be available without cost to anyone with access to the Internet. JCMRS is sponsored by UC Santa Barbara's Department of Sociology and is hosted on the eScholarship Repository, which is part of the eScholarship initiative of the California Digital Library.
MELUS / Society for the Study of the Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States
Founded in 1973, MELUS endeavors to expand the definition of new, more broadly conceived US literature through the study and teaching of Latino, Native American, African American, Asian and Pacific American, and ethnically specific Euro-American literary works, their authors, and their cultural contexts.
Multicultural education
The Journal for Multicultural Education is a double-anonymous peer reviewed journal. Published quarterly, the editorial objectives and coverage focus on: Fostering research into the management of multicultural education, understanding multicultural education in the context of teacher-learner equity and enabling learners to collaborate more effectively across ethnic, cultural and linguistic lines.
Multicultural perspectives
Multicultural Perspectives (MCP) promotes the philosophy of social justice, equity, and inclusion. It celebrates cultural and ethnic diversity as a national strength that enriches the fabric of society. MCP encourages a range of material from academic to personal perspectives; poetry and art; articles of an academic nature illuminating the discussion of cultural pluralism and inclusion; articles and position papers reflecting a variety of disciplines; and reviews of film, art, and music that address or embody multicultural forms. Its main audience is K-12 educators, social scientists, governmental social service personnel, teacher educators, and those involved in multicultural education.
Race, ethnicity and education
Race Ethnicity and Education is the leading peer-reviewed journal on racism and race inequality in education. The journal provides a focal point for international scholarship, research and debate by publishing original and challenging research that explores the dynamics of race, racism and ethnicity in education policy, theory and practice.