History of Latin America

Multi-subject database; articles from journals & other publications. Covers business, education, history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, science, and technology.

Included with Web of Science. Subject coverage includes archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion. 1991 to present.

This database includes the full text of over 250 volumes of the Cambridge Histories series on subjects such as Latin American, British, American, World and regional history; the history of philosophy, music, literary studies, religious studies, science, economics, language and linguistics, theatre and performing arts, political and social theory, and warfare.

Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, the Chicano Database from EBSCO is a bibliographic index that includes over 70,000 records from more than 2,400 journals and other resources, including newspapers, books, and book chapters, focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.

This database is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses on the humanities and social sciences. Full text Included.

Historical Abstracts is a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada.

Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.

Includes over 300 full text scholarly journals in humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Dates vary, 1990 to present.

The Social Science/Humanities Library is a collection of over 1,480 online social science/humanities journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines. Use the search function to find titles and articles. The Social Science/Humanities Library title list also provides direct URL links to the individual journals. All currently subscribed journals are also available and accessible.

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from numerous academic publishers. Visit the help page. NOTE: Titles can be dropped by the publisher without prior notice.

This collection includes over 8,000 ebooks covering a range of academic topics. Watch a how-to video.

The GVRL collection includes encyclopedias and other reference works supporting a wide range of academic disciplines.

The Humanities Ebook collection includes nearly 4000 ebooks. Subject focus is the humanities disciplines and area studies.

Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America provides a collection of materials related to Native Americans and indigenous peoples of Canada, Mesoamerica, and the Caribbean, including content from the earliest contact with Europeans to contemporary civil rights issues, in the form of books, legal and financial records, diaries, travel journals, photographs, maps, newspapers, artwork, treaties, and tribal records.

Content includes primary sources regarding African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; and women’s studies.

Includes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Materials are diverse, including not only books and broadsides but also Bibles, tract books, sermons, and printed printed ephemera by many well-known and lesser-known authors. Captures the essence of the Enlightenment in Great Britain, and is essential in order to understand the context of the French, Industrial, and American Revolutions. Contains more than 32 million pages of text and over 205,000 individual volumes, all fully searchable.

Full text access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Times of London, and Wall Street Journal.

Databases composed of fully searchable image-based PDFs of original primary sources and retrospective legal materials. Documents are high quality and can be printed or downloaded.

• Civil Rights and Social Justice: Includes hearings, committee prints, legislative histories, CRS and GAO reports, Supreme Court briefs, scholarly articles, books, and prominent civil rights organizations.

• Gun Regulation and Legislation in America: Includes periodicals, federal legislative histories, congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and scholarly articles.

• LGBTQ+ Rights: Charts the gay rights movement in America, showing civil rights codified into law in the 20th and 21st centuries and the inequalities still present.

• Open Society Justice Initiative: Provides expert legal support for Open Society's mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work.

• Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law: Includes colony status, federal statues, state cases on slavery, Congressional debates from the Continental Congress to 1880, English-language legal commentary on slavery, 19th-century pamphlets and books, modern histories of slavery, and modern law review articles.

This primary source collection focuses on the political, social, and cultural history of indigenous peoples from the 16th century through the 20th century. Documentation include newspapers, indigenous language materials, dictionaries, religious texts, photographs, maps, reports, and legal materials. Topics include delegations and federal relations, trade, communication, wars, laws, language/linguistics, education, assimilation, relocation, and civil rights.

The L.A. Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

The L.A. Times offers full page and article images; covers 1985 to present.

The New York Times (1851-2020) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. 

An online collection of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. Covering a span of 400 years in North, Central and South America, as well as the Caribbean, this fully searchable digital archive is an essential tool for the study of the western hemisphere. It provides primary source material critical to the understanding of the society, politics, religious beliefs, literature, customs and momentous events of the times.

This primary source collection contains manuscripts, ephemera, documents, newspapers, journals, and literature related to women's movements, feminist theory and activism, the social, political, and professional achievements of women, women's education, women's health and mental health, and other gender issues throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. The archives cover multiple geographic regions and multilingual content.

Complete digital edition of The Times (London) newspaper. Use keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of a specific article or a complete page. To search full-text, change drop-down box from keyword to "text." The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Funded by the History Department.