Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mathematics Education

Find articles and documents in support of Mathematics Education

The ERIC Database

 Start the ERIC database

right arrowAfter you start up the ERIC database, you will be presented with a search screen for ERIC. The ERIC database is composed of two kinds for records: those that lead to journal articles and those that lead to ERIC documents.

.

The ERIC search form

Above: Basic Search page for the ERIC database. Here we have typed in search terms
and will soon click on the "Search" button to start the search.  See the end of this box for more search options.

right arrowERIC documents are items that did not make it into regular book or journal publication. You will often find such local documents as lesson plans, curricula, and policy documents.

 

 

right arrowRight: The results screen from an ERIC search. Look carefully for numbers that start with either "EJ" or "ED". Those that start with "EJ" are journal articles (as in number 96)  and those with "ED" are ERIC documents (as in numbers 94 and 95).

ERIC search results list showing "ED" and "EJ" designations

right arrowRight: for an "ED" item, click on the link "FullText from ERIC".

 

NOTICE:  The "Full Text From ERIC" link may not work because the ERIC server is down due to Federal government shutdowns.

ERIC search result showing "ED" number

right arrowYou now have the item in PDF  format. You can print or save the item to a storage device. 

 

If no "Full Text from ERIC" link appears, these items are available by request via   Document Delivery (request these as books).
ERIC pdf deisplay of an "ED" item

right arrowRight: For an "EJ" item, click on the FIND IT! button.  See below about using Find It!

ERIC search result showing "EJ" number and Find It! button

right arrow In some very rare cases, an "EJ" item will have a "PDF" or "Full Text" Link and thereforre you do not have to click on the Find It! link.

screen shot from ebsco ERIC showing a "PDF" link

 

screenshot from EBSCO ERIC showing "Full Text from ERIC" link

 

 

right arrowA final note: if you scroll down on the search screen, you can see the filters you can add to your search:

screenshot from ERIC on ebscohost showing searching filters

  Using Find It!

 

 

 

If you click on Find IT!, you will then get a screen which may tell you that full text is available at a certain site (and so you should click on the link to that site to go there).

 

If there is no full text site listed, search the Library catalog: this may lead to another full text link or tell you about issues of the journal we have here in the building

If the catalog shows we do not have the article you want, you can request a copy via Document Delivery