Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Civil Engineering

Introduction to the Cal Poly Pomona Library for CE students.

About OneSearch

OneSearch is the Library's all purpose search interface. OneSearch brings in search results (books, articles, more) from the Library Catalog and most of our databases. OneSearch is still under development and has some quirks. Take a look at our OneSearch FAQ to learn more.

OneSearch box

 

IMPORTANT!  OneSearch does not actually search everything. OneSearch does NOT search Compendex, our primary engineering database, and it does not search the full text of other important engineering resources such as IEEE Xplore or Knovel.

Featured links showing databases linkGo ahead and try OneSearch, but for most of your engineering research you will have better results if you use one of the databases recommended for your major. Look for the Databases link in the Featured Links area of the Library homepage.

Databases

Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)

  • Popular magazines and academic journals representing all academic disciplines
  • Full text of Civil Engineering magazine and other trade journals

ABI/Inform (ProQuest)

  • Focus is business topics, companies and industries. Includes many trade publications.

Compendex (Engineering Village)

  • Search journal articles and conference proceedings in all engineering disciplines.
  • Compendex focuses on technical information and is not very useful for articles about careers or the profession.

ASCE Library

  • Access  to ASCE research journals, 1983 to present, and ASCE conference proceedings, 2000 to present. Our subscription does not include the ASCE e-books.

ProQuest Newsstand

  • Full text access to over 500 US and international newspapers.

Historical Newspapers - find articles about a historic project (e.g., the Brooklyn Bridge) written at the time it was built.

Look for Find It! in your search results for links to articles. FindIt button

About Databases

EZreserachTo learn more about strategies and techniques for searching Library databases, try one or more of our tutorials on the research process.