Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Introduction to Civil Engineering

Introduction to the Cal Poly Pomona Library for CE students.

Books for Career Information

To find books about engineering careers:

  • use OneSearch
  • do a keyword search: engineering vocational guidance (this old fashioned term is the "official" subject heading)
  • try other keywords such as: civil engineering careers or engineers employement
  • books about engineering careers usually have a chapter devoted to each major discipline

More Information About Careers

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Call Number HF5381 .E52
This multi-volume set covers a wide range of careers.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Covers hundreds of occupations: what they do, work environment, employment outlook, pay, links to more information. Search the website, or browse the Architecture and Engineering Occupations section.

Career Outlook
Articles about careers, workplace issues, earnings, trends, statistics.

Occupational Employment Statistics 
Even more data related to occupations and employment.

Hints for Finding Articles About Careers & Professional Issues

You can use OneSearch to look for career related information. However you will retrieve a huge number of articles and will spend time trying to refine or limit your search results. You'll find plenty of articles more efficiently if you use one of the databases listed on the Find Articles tab of this Guide. The search examples below are done in the Academic Search Premier database.

When searching in article databases, its best to use more specific terms than when searching for books. You should be able to find articles specifically about civil engineering but don't overlook articles about engineering in general.

keyword search: engineering salaries

In the search above, using the * at the end of the word engineer will search for engineer, engineers, engineering. I also tried this search putting both words in the same box but I found more articles putting the words in separating boxes. Trying different combinations of keywords is part of the search process.

database search: civil engineering employment

In the example above, I'm looking for articles about employment opportunities, trends, etc. for civil engineers.

ASCE Library

Career information can be found in a number of ASCE publications such as the Journal of Professional Issues in Engineering Education and Practice. When searching the the ASCE Library, it might not be necessary to includes keywords such as civil engineers as ASCE is the publisher and civil engineers are the target audience.

ASCE Library search