Skip to Main Content

Websites - Law

Law, regulation, legislation, and the courts (USA and California), contracts, Criminal Justice, Business Law, and intellectual property.

Research & Instruction Librarian

Profile Photo
Julie Shen
she/her
Contact:
Faculty: Please contact me for any of the following:
  1. a new/updated library guide/video for your class
  2. a guest lecture about library resources available to support your students in successfully completing a class project.
  3. help in locating a book, an article, or other kinds of information for your research project.

Students Please contact me for any of the following:
  1. You are struggling with your research topic.
  2. You can't find the right data for your project.
  3. You have a question about citation styles or copyright/fair use.
  4. You're planning your life after college and want to research careers in different industries.

4 ways to reach me:
I look forward to hearing from you!

Criminal Justice

IPL2 Law Enforcement The IPL2 site has links to topics of interest to Criminal Justice including forensics and statistics.

FreeAdvice ® Criminal Law Juvenile Law, Parole, Violent Crimes, and more. This comprehensive site includes a search engine.

NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service The NCJRS is a collection of clearinghouses supporting all bureaus of the US Dept. of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, National Institute of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, and the Office for Victims of Crime to name a few.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) The NACJD provides browsing and downloading access to over 500 data collections relating to criminal justice.

www.fraud.org National Consumers League's Fraud Center Includes Telemarketing fraud, Internet fraud, and fraud against the elderly.

UNCJIN United Nations Crime and Justice Information Network The in UNCJIN in Vienna provides links to UN documents, country specific information, international statistics and research sources, and the Office of International Criminal Justice.

The Smoking Gun ® "...exclusive documents--cool, confidential, quirky--that can't be found elsewhere on the Web." Includes mug shots and police reports for everyday people and celebrities.

Find crime rates and statistics through:

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data, with links to various government and academic sites.
BJS Bureau of Justice Statistics, Access to statistics on crimes, victims, criminals, and the justice system.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Online, The online counterpart of Ref HV 7345 N37b.
Crime Data California Office of the Attorney General “...5,000 statistical tables, 59 reports, 29 publications.”