Skip to main content

Websites - Encyclopedias, Wiki, Answers; and Internet Directories

Internet sites that contain full-text articles, or lead to full-text articles. Reference sources, wiki.

Internet Search for Articles

ipl2; Information You Can Trust
“ipl2 is the result of a merger of the Internet Public Library (IPL) and the Librarians' Internet Index (LII)” The Internet Public Library was hosted by the School of Information (i.e. Library Science) of the University of Michigan. LII was developed by the Berkeley (CA) Public Library. Alas a notice that ipl2 will no longer be updated. 

Virtual Reference Shelf
From the Library of Congress - quality links!

Best of the Web
Since 1994, “The Internet's Oldest Directory” “...a site must adhere to the strict criteria of editors who ensure that it contains substantive unique content, navigates in a user-friendly manner, contains no broken links or pictures, is up and running 24/7, and conforms to universally accepted web standards..”

AcademicInfo
See the Subject Guides tab at top. “AcademicInfo is an online education resource center with extensive subject guides, video courses and distance learning information.”

Hot Topics
From St. Ambrose University.

Martindale's The Reference Desk
"The Reference Desk" is a quality, comprehensive site that includes a number of "Enjoy, Have Fun" links.

refdesk.com Fact Checker for the Internet
Formerly My Virtual Reference Desk (MVRD); a large, comprehensive reference center!

Galaxy ® Galaxy is a large, general interest directory site.

InfoPlease ® (Information Please) This site has several basic almanacs and dictionaries.

The WWW Virtual Library (WWW VL)
The WWW Virtual Library was established by the people at CERN (European Laboratory for Particle Physics) who also started the World Wide Web WWW. The Virtual Library is organized by subject fields, some correspond to academic disciplines. Typically discipline sites are maintained by a university faculty.