Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: California, North American & World History Resources

Websites

Amdocs Documents for the Study of American History
This site, maintained by the University of Kansas, provides access to hundreds of important documents related to the study of American History. The materials date from the fifteenth century to the present and includes a large number of primary source materials.

Papers of the War Department 1784 to 1800 “Fire destroyed the office of the War Department and all its files in 1800, and for decades historians believed that the collection, and the window it provided into the workings of the early federal government, was lost forever. Thanks to a decade-long effort to retrieve copies of the files scattered in archives across the country, the collection has been reconstituted and is offered here as a fully-searchable digital database.” Primary Sources.

American Memory
American Memory is the online resource compiled by the Library of Congress's National Digital Library Program. It is a gateway of rich primary source materials relating to the history and cultural developments of the United States. The site provides multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, maps, recorded sound, and moving pictures.

A Chronology of U.S. Historical Documents
The site provides hundreds of important primary source documents related to American History from pre-Colonial times to the present. It is maintained by the Law Center at the University of Oklahoma.

Historic American Newspapers 

Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.  From the Library of Congress.

Keele University (UK) School of American Studies Useful Links 
This site has information on and links to resources on American studies, history, film, music, art, and literature.

History Guide Comprehensive site that includes Anglo-American History.

Folklore Wiki 
From American Folklore Society.

Hidden America 
Look here for "On The Road" Americana. This site includes links to festivals.

Literature and Culture of the American 1950s
From the University of Pennsylvania, survey the best (or anyway maybe the most interesting) of decades.

AHC The Authentic History Center Primary Sources from American Popular Culture
“...images of artifacts, sounds, and written letters and diaries. We believe that these items reflect the history and societal values of the time period in which they were produced.” Divided my era, with special featured areas.

Center for the Study of Southern Culture
From the University of Mississippi, includes visual and musical resources.

The (American) National Portrait Gallery
This is a searchable site that contains photographs, portraits, and biographical information on thousands of prominent Americans.

POTUS Presidents of the United States
In this resource there are background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents. Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites are also included.

Historical Census Data Browser 
The data presented in the site describe the people and the economy of the US for each state and county from 1790 to 1970.

Making of America (Cornell)
Making of America (U of Michigan) 
Two sites with the same name, from Cornell University and from the University of Michigan, with different selections of full text documents including journal articles from the 19th Century. The Cornell link also has records of the American Civil War (War of the Rebellion).

Canadian History Time Line Each section of the time line brings links to aspects of Canadian History.

Statistics Canada Statistics Canada publishes new statistical information daily about the Canadian economy and society, as well as key indicators..

Canadian Social Research Links “...a virtual resource centre for Canadian social program information.”

Library and Archives Canada The National Library, comprehensive!

New France, New Horizons on French Soil in America Quebec, Acadia, and Louisiana.

VMC virtualmuseum.ca Virtual Museum of Canada This sites includes virtual exhibits and an image gallery.

Maps of Canada

tourizmmaps Maps of Canada Political and physical maps: Cities, provinces, territories.

WorldAtlas.com Canada Maps Click on and lists of maps of all kinds and places.

Ancient Mesoamerican Civilizations Mesomerican (Aztec, Maya, Olmec, etc.) and Andean (Inca) civilizations are described with excellent photographs of ancient structures.

History.com Mexico Includes a Mexico Timeline 
MEXonline.com Mexico History Directory From the Online Guide to Mexico 
Mexconnect History of Mexico And tabs for Culture & Arts, Cuisine, and more. Site includes a Time Line Overview.

Lanic Mexico Reference Desk From the Latin American Information Network Center, University of Texas, the Mexico page includes links for History and the Humanities.

Maps of Mexico

Maps of Mexico “31 interactive Mexico state & D.F. maps each in 16 zoomable sections.”

EmbassyWorld.com Maps of Mexico Click on a map to enlarge it, country and states.