Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Technical Communications and Project Management for ETE

Library resources for your ETE research and projects

Databases

Databases provide subject access to journal articles, papers, reports and other publications. Use these databases for your research on technical topics:

Compendex (Engineering Village)
From Engineering Information. Indexes over 2600 journals published worldwide in all engineering disciplines and the applied sciences. Compendex also covers conference papers, reports, and publications of engineering societies. 

IEEE Xplore
Journals, conferences, standards; electrical, electronics, and computer engineering.

Web of Science
Provides seamless access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Over 10,000 journals are indexed in this multidisciplinary database. 1991 to present.

Look for Find It! in your search results for links to articles. FindIt button

Databases for General News, Business, Company, and Industry Information

If you need articles about companies or industries or current engineering projects in the news, try these databases:

About OneSearch

OneSearch is the Library's all purpose search interface. OneSearch brings in search results (books, articles, more) from the Library Catalog and most of our databases. OneSearch is still under development and has some quirks. Take a look at our OneSearch FAQ to learn more.

OneSearch box

 

IMPORTANT!  OneSearch does not actually search everything. OneSearch does NOT search Compendex, our primary engineering database, and it does not search the full text of other important engineering resources such as IEEE Xplore or Knovel.

Featured links showing databases linkGo ahead and try OneSearch, but for most of your engineering research you will have better results if you use one of the databases recommended for your major. Look for the Databases link in the Featured Links area of the Library homepage.

Get Materials Not at Cal Poly Pomona

When you're doing a major research paper it's likely you'll need books, articles, reports, or other materials that are not in the Cal Poly Pomona Library. You have several options:

Other CSU Libraries
Use your Cal Poly Pomona library card (Bronco card) to check out books at any CSU library.

Document Delivery
Use Document Delivery to obtain copies of articles from journals not available in this Library.

You'll have to register before using Document Delivery for the first time. Once you've registered you can usually submit your article request directly from the database citation. Just click the GET IT button. If we have a subscription to the journal you'll find a link to the article. If we don't have a subscription you'll find a link to Document Delivery. When you get to Document Delivery just log in and you'll find the request form has already been filled out for you!