Guides: MTE 3170 Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory: Handbooks, Encyclopedias

Materials Engineering Reference Sources

The handbooks and reference books listed here are useful for materials engineering. Some are available online as well.

This is a highly selective list. Use the Library Catalog to find more. Most materials references are in the TAs. Plastics and polymers are in TP.

ASM Handbooks
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 0871703777
A comprehensive set of materials information; plus volumes on welding, heat treating, casting, machining, and more. This link connects to the online edition.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Call Number: QD65.H3
ISBN: 1439820775
Often called the "CRC Handbook", this standard reference tool provides extensive tables of data on chemical compounds, physical properties, constants, laboratory data, mathematical tables, conversion factors, etc.
The Materials Selector, Second Edition by N. Waterman; Mike Ashby
Call Number: TA403.E43
ISBN: 9780412615504
Publication Date: 1996-12-15
This is the 1997 edition but the data and comparison charts are still useful.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology by Herman F. Mark
Call Number: TP1110.E48 2007
ISBN: 9780470046104
Publication Date: 2007-01-29
The Concise Edition of a multi-volume encyclopedia, but still quite comprehensive.
Modern Plastics Handbook by Charles A. Harper
Call Number: TP1130. M62
ISBN: 9780070267145
Publication Date: 2000-03-24
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Packaging Technology by Marilyn Bakker
Call Number: TS195.A2W55 2009
ISBN: 9780471809401
Publication Date: 1986-09-22
A source of information on materials used in packaging