Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MTE 3170 Materials Science and Engineering Laboratory

Databases

Databases provide subject access to journal articles, papers, reports and other publications. You can use OneSearch, but you can save time and get more targeted search results with specialized, subject focused databases.

Use the databases listed here for materials engineering research.

Compendex (Engineering Village)
From Engineering Information. Indexes over 2600 journals published worldwide in all engineering disciplines and the applied sciences. Compendex also covers conference papers, reports, and publications of engineering societies. 

IEEE Xplore
Journals and conference proceedings from IEEE and IET, IEEE standards, and IEEE ebooks. IEEE Xplore will be useful for any materials applications in electrical engineering, computer science and engineering, and electronics.

SciFinder
From ACS, access to Chemical Abstracts and related chemistry resources. You'll have to set up a SciFinder account using your cpp.edu email address.

Web of Science
Provides seamless access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Over 10,000 journals are indexed in this multidisciplinary database. 1991 to present.

If you need articles about chemical prices, production, chemical companies or industries, try these databases:

You can also search electronic journal collections that include chemical engineering journals. Be aware that if you search one of these ejournal collections you will only be searching journals from one publisher. Use one of the databases listed above to search a broad selection of journals from many publishers.

Google Scholar

Document Delivery

Document Delivery is a free service that allows you to request items that the Cal Poly Pomona library does not have access to.