Skip to Main Content

Library Workshops

This guide is a companion to the Library Workshop series.

What is a Database?

What is a Database?

A database is an online periodical index, which gives you access to journals, magazines, newspapers, videos, and images. Cal Poly Pomona subscribes to databases for Cal Poly students, faculty, and staff.

The Library subscribes to 192 databases to support the curriculum here at Cal Poly. Some of the databases are general and are great for background reading. Some examples are:

 

General Databases

Subject-Specific Databases

Academic Search Premier

 ARTStor
Gale Virtual Reference Library Education Research Complete
JSTOR PsycInfo
Opposing Viewpoints in Context  

 

How do I find them?

onesearch search bar with driverless car written in itOption #1:

OneSearch: You can search for articles across databases. You can filter your results by date or subject. You will also find tools such as citation and print.

 

Option #2:

Database list: Go to "Featured Links" at the bottom right of the library homepage and click on your database.List of featured links with an arrow pointing to a databases which is circled

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

What is Google Scholar?

  • If you can't find what you need in the databases listed on this page, try Google Scholar. It allows you to search for academic/scholarly articles freely available on the web. Your search results will include academic publishers and professional societies.
  • You can search Google Scholar for articles from the Cal Poly databases. Look for "Find It Cal Poly Pomona".

How to search Google Scholar and OneSearch at the same time:

  1. Go to Google Scholar. Click on “Settings” in the upper left corner.
  2. Click on “Library links” on left navigation panel. Type “cal poly pomona” in the search box.
  3. Select “Cal Poly Pomona - Find It Cal Poly Pomona" checkbox.