Skip to Main Content

Websites - Companies

Company directories; publicly-traded companies, SEC filings, ranking of companies. Company Internet search strategy.

Business, Hospitality, and Computer Science Librarian

Profile Photo
Julie Shen
Contact:
Here are the 4 ways to reach me:

I look forward to hearing from you!

Company Directories

California Business Search. “ This search provides access to domestic stock, domestic nonprofit and qualified foreign corporations, limited liability company and limited partnership information of record...”, from the California Secretary of State.

Global Edge ™Company Directories / Yellow Pages From Michigan State University, this is a listing of company links worldwide by country and includes the US.

Network Solutions ® Enhanced Whois Directory Identify companies through their domain name, ip adddress, NIC handle, or other.

Hoovers ™ Online "Hoover's Company Capsules" brings brief data for more than 11,000 of the largest public and private companies worldwide including a description of the company, address, officers, sales and employment figures, and links to financial reports, stock quotes, SEC filings, and news searches. Search for name by stock ticker symbol as well as directly for company www sites. This site includes some job listings. Note that the University Library subscribes to Hoover's Company Profiles

SICCode.com ™ This site organizes businesses by broad industry name and SIC code and and includes a SIC Code/NAICS Code Cross Reference Database with a search window. Search by SIC, NAICS, or by industry description.

SMARTpages.com Several Bell's companies; select a state; search for business names or categories.

Switchboard ® Switchboard is a directory with 90 million people and 10 million businesses. And it is FREE! And you can register if you want to be in the database (if you are not already). The first and last names are in different fields; so you can limit your searches to the last name only.

ThomasNet ® The Thomas Register of American Manufacturers Register on the Thomas Register site for free to have access to US, Canadian, and global companies classified under product and service headings. There are also online supplier catalogs.