Skip to main content

University Library

Websites - Dictionaries, Glossaries, and Thesauri

Look it Up! Words. Acronyms, phrases, quotations, cliches.

Librarian

Julie Shen's picture
Julie Shen
See my upcoming events on the Library Calendar!
Email: jshen@cpp.edu
Phone/Jabber: 909-869-4330
Contact:
Hi! I'm the Business and Computer Science Librarian. I work with students and faculty in the College of Business Administration, the Collins College of Hospitality Management, and the Computer Science Department in the College of Science. If you need help with a research project, please use the chat button if I'm online, visit me during my virtual office hours, or email me anytime.

Fall 2020 Office Hours
beginning August 24:

Mondays & Tuesdays
2:00-4:00pm
Zoom link for my virtual office hours: https://cpp.zoom.us/j/95954601679

I look forward to talking to you!

Dictionaries, Glossaries, and Thesauri

Wordnick All the Words “Our goal is to show you as much information as possible, as fast as we can find it, for every word in English, and to give you a place where you can make your own opinions about words known.”

Urban Dictionary “Urban Dictionary is the dictionary you wrote. Define your world 4,804,992 definitions since december 9, 1999.”

The Free Dictionary Look for a lot of words in a lot of dictionaries. Including onther languages

OneLook ® Dictionary Search Look for a lot of words in a lot of dictionaries.

YourDictionary.com The Last Word in Words Some 1800 dictionaries with more than 250 languages.

infoplease ® This site has several basic almanacs and dictionaries.

Hypertext Webster Gateway “...provides a point-and-click client interface (for non-linemode browsers) for accessing various dictionary services on the Internet.”

Phrase Finder The site contains 5,000 phrases. The search works like a phrases thesaurus. Provide a single word and it will return a list of phrases and sayings that are related to the word.

Thesaurus.net Synonyms and antonyms and also provides rhymes, quotes and idioms

Roget's Thesaurus A public-domain (1911) edition of Roget's Thesaurus

Travlang Translate travel words and phrases to foreign languages.