Guides: HRT 4840 Multi-Unit Restaurant Management & HRT 5840 Advanced Food Service Management: Journals & Databases

About This Course

For information about this course, please contact Dr. Ben Dewald in the Collins College of Hospitality Management.

For information about library resources, please contact the Subject Librarian, Julie Shen.

Meet Your Librarian

Julie Shen

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Hello CPP Students! 😊You can login to CPP Connect to see my availability and choose a Zoom or on-campus appointment. If you would prefer to meet via phone, please let me know when you make the appointment.

Everyone else, please feel free to contact me by email for an appointment.
Phone 909-869-4330

Subjects: Accounting, Business Administration, Computer Information Systems, Computer Science, Finance, Hospitality Management, International Business, Law, Management & Human Resources, Marketing, Reference, Technology & Operations Management

Introduction

Welcome to this library guide! Many of the resources featured here require that you login with your Bronco name and password. If you have any questions, please contact Julie Shen at jshen@cpp.edu.

Peer-Reviewed Journals

You can find additional peer-reviewed journals in the Hospitality & Tourism Complete database by limiting your search to"Peer Reviewed."

Databases for Hospitality Management

Hospitality & Tourism Complete (EBSCO)
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
ABI/INFORM Complete
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Industry reports by country. Part of Proquest Databases. Read more about this resource or visit the help page.
Business Expert Press Digital Library
E-books about accounting, advertising, ethics, economics, finance, human resources, international trade, law, management, marketing, retailing, and sales.
Business Source Premier
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Case studies and SWOT analyses. Country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review. Read more about this resource or watch a how-to video.
CountryWatch
Provides country profiles, news, statistics, and trends (political, economic, etc.).
IBISWorld
U.S., China, Canada, and global industry market research reports. Funded by the College of Business Administration. Read more about this resource.
Linkedin Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
Over 15,000 expert-led, online courses and video tutorials on business, technology, and creative topics. Funded by the Division of Information Technology.
Mergent Online
Financial information on 10,000+ publicly traded companies on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, including EDGAR/SEC filings. Also includes industry analysis and private companies. Read more about this resource.
ProQuest Databases
Search platform for a wide range of multi-disciplinary subject areas, including agriculture, alternative publications, biology, business, country reports, dissertations and theses, education, ethnic and gender issues, geosciences, historical Los Angeles Times and New York Times, literature, PTSD, sociology, and US and global news.
RMA eStatement Studies
Online version of Annual Statement Studies. Composite financial data and financial ratio benchmarks for small, medium, and large U.S. companies. Search by industry keyword or NAICS. Advanced search by industry, year, region, and data type such as assets and sales.
Scopus
Scopus is Elsevier's abstracting and indexing database that indexes content from thousands of scholarly books, journals, and conference proceedings over a wide range of disciplines. Scopus also provides access to detailed author profiles and analytical tools to compare journals, citation impact, and citation trends.
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)
Create custom maps using downloadable U.S. datasets. Topics covered: people (demographics, consumer expenditures, market segments, sales potential), businesses (establishments, employees, retail sales), consumer price index, crime, and weather. Geographies available: states, congressional district, counties, cities, zip code, census tract, block groups, and street address. Not all data available in all geographies.
Westlaw
A comprehensive legal, business and news database. LEGAL CONTENT includes U.S. federal and state case law, regulations, statutes, administrative codes, legislative history, law reviews and journals, American Law Reports, American Jurisprudence 2d, Black's Law Dictionary, European Union case law and related legal publications. BUSINESS CONTENT includes EDGAR Filings and Disclosures, Company Investigator (including Hoover's Company Profiles for public and private companies), and business and trade publications. NEWS CONTENT includes U.S. state, national and international newspapers, magazines, blogs, radio and television transcripts, and congressional testimony.
Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
Access datasets from AuditAnalytics, Compustat, CRSP, Dow Jones, Federal Reserve Bank, MSRB, OTC Markets, and others. Funded by the College of Business Administration. Free account registration required of all users. Undergraduate students, please register for a “Masters/Undergraduate Student” account. If you have any questions, please email Business Librarian Julie Shen (jshen@cpp.edu) and copy Associate Dean Cheryl Wyrick (crwyrick@cpp.edu).

See All Library Databases

Need an article we don't have?

Interlibrary Loan Services (formerly Document Delivery)
Free to all CPP students, faculty, and staff. Registration required. Request articles not available in our databases and get them within a few days!

Cite Your Sources using APA Style!

When creating your project, remember to cite everything you did not write / create / think up on your own, including images / graphs / charts / maps / datasets you borrow from online sources. Below are some tools and websites to help you cite your sources correctly.

APA Style Guide at Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Includes guidelines on formatting and citations as well as sample papers.
APA Style Guidelines at APA.ORG
Includes guidelines on paper format (headings, fonts, etc.), tables and figures, style, grammar, as well as in-text citations and references, along with sample papers.
Citation Machine
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Check your paper for plagiarism errors.
Google Scholar
Works best for books and scholarly articles. Search for a title, then click on the "Cite" button. Includes the following styles: APA, Chicago, Harvard, MLA, and Vancouver.
Zotero
Create citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, Harvard, ACM, IEEE, CSE, etc. Free registration to save bibliographies. Optional download for desktop version.

To learn more about the importance of academic integrity, please see

Videos on different types of plagiarism
Provided by the Office of Student Conduct & Integrity at Cal Poly Pomona.

Citing IBISWorld

Reference List:

Alvarez, A. (2017, October). Fast food restaurants in the US (IBISWorld Industry Report 72221a). Retrieved from IBISWorld database.

In-text citation:

According to Alvarez (2017), the quick-service industry must seek “healthy and convenient meal options” to stay competitive (p. 5).

The quick-service industry must seek “healthy and convenient meal options” to stay competitive (Alvarez, p. 5).

For more information on APA citation, see: OWL Purdue APA

Also See

HRT 1010 Introduction to the Hospitality Industry
by Julie Shen Last Updated Oct 23, 2023 297 views this year

Library Services Available During COVID-19
Despite the closure of the building, many of the Library's resources and services are still available from off-campus.