Music

Multi-subject database; articles from journals & other publications. Covers business, education, history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, science, and technology.

The Cambridge History of Music is a new group of reference works concerned with significant strands of musical scholarship. The individual volumes are self-contained and will include histories of music examined by century as well as histories of opera, music theory and American music. Each volume is written by a team of experts under a specialist editor and represents the latest musicological research.

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from numerous academic publishers. Visit the help page. NOTE: Titles can be dropped by the publisher without prior notice.

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an online digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education. ERIC provides access to records of journal articles and other education-related materials from 1966-present. A key component of ERIC is its collection of "grey literature" in education (such as conference papers and reports), which is largely available in full text PDF format. Learn more about this resource or watch an introductory how-to video.

Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.

The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.

Scholarly articles on the musical heritage, traditions, themes, genres, practices and performance of music from every continent.

Search platform for a wide range of multi-disciplinary subject areas, including agriculture, alternative publications, biology, business, country reports, dissertations and theses, education, ethnic and gender issues, geosciences, historical Los Angeles Times and New York Times, literature, PTSD, sociology, and US and global news.

Authoritative information on all aspects of music in the Western classic tradition, from the Middle Ages to the present. This resource includes access to the Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music.

This limited access database features a list of composers and their works that can be filtered on genre, time period, instrument played, music key, and year of composition.  Includes all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.  Users can browse the list but are unable to search using the Search Box.

Indexes and abstracts articles from more than 313 art, architecture, landscape architecture, design and decorative arts periodicals published throughout the world. Indexes reproductions of works of art. 1994 to present. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included.

The back file for Art Abstracts (see above) covers 1929-1984 for 420 publications. Subject coverage includes art, architecture, landscape design, the decorative arts, and building trades.

Included with Web of Science. Subject coverage includes archeology, architecture, dance, music, film and theater, history, humanities, literature, and religion. 1991 to present.

Contains over a million images in architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design and more. 

Bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. Periodical coverage includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of humanities and social sciences journals. Content from H.W. Wilson's International Index is also included. Dates covered: 1907 - 1984.

Provides free access to many public domain music scores as well as music scores from contemporary composers who are willing to share their scores free of charge.

Multidisciplinary mediated streaming video service, licensed for classroom use, and viewable on a range of devices and platforms.

Please note: Kanopy films without instant access are available upon request. Please fill out Kanopy's Request Form to request reactivation of titles. At this time, only current faculty requests for required course assignments will be considered. Current faculty/staff may request 3-5 films.

For assistance with closed captioning (CC), transcripts, and audio description, or other questions, contact Brinna Pam Anan, Collection Development Coordinator, at bpanan [at] cpp [dot] edu.

The MLA International Bibliography contains more than 1.7 million records for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Includes over 300 full text scholarly journals in humanities, arts, and social sciences from 60 scholarly publishers. Dates vary, 1990 to present.

The Social Science/Humanities Library is a collection of over 1,480 online social science/humanities journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines. Use the search function to find titles and articles. The Social Science/Humanities Library title list also provides direct URL links to the individual journals. All currently subscribed journals are also available and accessible.