Skip to main content

University Library

Special Collections and Archives Internships

The Special Collections and Archives unit at the University Library offers a for-credit internships in partnership with the History and Art Departments

Special Collections InternshipsSpecial Collections and Archives is seeking energetic and organized special collections interns for the Spring 2020 semester. The deadline to apply is Friday, November 22, 2019. The internship is open to upper-division History and Art History majors with a minimum 3.0 GPA.

The department collects, organizes, preserves, and makes available Cal Poly Pomona's rare books and archival collections. The collections center around themes relevant to the mission of the university and consist of rare and unique books and documents that are available for use by students, faculty, staff, alumni, and scholars. These historic materials support research and teaching at Cal Poly Pomona and promote our institution's heritage. 

Interns will have the opportunity to learn about archival theory and practice while working with Special Collections staff to continue to develop one or more of these collections. Interns may work with collection materials such as photographs, letters, drawings, newspaper clippings, brochures, and other historical documents. Special Collections staff and the intern will establish duties and expectations at the beginning of the quarter, based on collection needs and student interest.

Possible projects include:

  • Survey archival collections to determine their organizational and preservation needs.
  • Compile an inventory of materials in a particular collection, and work with the Archivist or Head of Special Collections to determine the appropriate organization for the collection.Student
  • Preserve materials by re-housing them in archival-quality folders and boxes.
  • Organize and describe materials in a finding aid.
  • Transcribe oral histories.

Learning Outcomes:

  • Work effectively with archival and special collections professionals. Understand the career path necessary to become one, and the various components of archival management: Appraisal, Acquisition, Accession, Processing, Preservation, Access and Reference, and Outreach and Promotion.
  • Apply appropriate methods according to assignment: e.g., apply survey and arrangement methods to unprocessed manuscript collections; compare, select, and employ appropriate conservation methods; appraise collection materials for retention and disposition based on institutional policies, research needs, and archival standards/guidelines.
  • Understand the role of special collections and archives in research and higher education.
  • Articulate how experience has enhanced their understanding of historical practice and how skills learned may be applied in the future.