Skip to main content

University Library

Library Online Resources for Music

Get help finding music materials through the library's resources including articles, books, journals, databases and other library resources.

Welcome to the Online Resources for Music Guide

This research guide provides pointers for getting started with your research. Use the tabs above to find the type of information you need!

           

   

Recommended Online Sources

Cambridge Histories of Music
Authoritative information about western classical music, including separate volumes on 17th Century Music, 19th Century Music and 20th Century Music, American Music, and Western Music Theory. Available through Cambridge Histories Online.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Scholarly articles on the musical heritage, traditions, themes, genres, practices and performance of music from every continent.

Grove Music
Encyclopedia of music, musicians, composers, and history with emphasis on classical music, and including jazz. Available through Oxford Music Online, including links to Classical Music Library.

International Encyclopedia of Dance
Covers full spectrum of dance. Includes cultural and national overviews, plus entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.

Music Index
 Most comprehensive index of music periodical literature in existance. Can limit search to document type "Article". After running your search, click on the "Find It" button to connect to full text. 

 Oxford Music Online - Includes Grove Music online encyclopedia, Oxford Dictionary of Music, Oxford Companion to Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin (4th edition, 2006)

Oxford Companion to Music
Authoritative information on all aspects of music in the Western classical tradition, from the Middle Ages to the present. Available through Oxford Music Online.

Oxford Dictionary of Music
Short authoritative entries on music topics, including composers with lists of works, performers, conductors, terms, forms, historical periods, instruments, venues and more. Available through Oxford Music Online.

Music Online Listening Services:
Since only a small number of people can use each music listening service at a time, please do not use for extended recreational listening.

Classical Music Library (limited to 3 simultaneous users)
NAXOS Music Library (limited to 5 simultaneous users)