Guides: ABM 3110 Applied Economics for Agribusiness: Home

Introduction

Welcome to this research guide! Many of the resources featured in this guide require that you login with your BroncoName and BroncoPassword. If you have any questions, please contact libraryhelp@cpp.edu. You may also chat with a librarian 24/7 using Library Chat.

Library databases

For Industry reports and analysis

IBISWorld
U.S., China, Canada, and global industry market research and company benchmarking reports. Funded by the College of Business Administration. Read more about this resource.

For News and Research articles

ABI/INFORM Complete
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Industry reports by country. Part of Proquest Databases. Read more about this resource or visit the help page.
Business Source Premier
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Case studies and SWOT analyses. Country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review. Read more about this resource or watch a how-to video.
ProQuest Databases
Search platform for a wide range of multi-disciplinary subject areas, including agriculture, alternative publications, biology, business, country reports, dissertations and theses, education, ethnic and gender issues, geosciences, historical Los Angeles Times and New York Times, literature, PTSD, sociology, and US and global news.

Use Interlibrary Loan service to request articles we don't have

For Company and Market Share information

The databases above, plus these:

Company Investigator
This database, as part of Westlaw, provides information on domestic and international public and private companies ranging from corporate filings, news, business subsidiaries, organizational structures and changes, financial information, and more. At the Westlaw homepage, click on the Company Investigator link to access the search. Check this screenshot for the link's location.
Market Share Reporter
Market share data compiled from published sources. Search by company, brand, or industry.

Recommended sources

For NAICS codes

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

For Reports, Statistics, and Data

World Agricultural Supply & Demand Estimates (WASDE) - This full-text monthly report provides the most current USDA forecasts of U.S. and world supply-use balances of major grains, soybeans and products, and cotton; and U.S. supply and use of sugar and livestock products.

USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System - Reports and datasets from five agencies of the USDA, covering U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Agencies include: Foreign Agricultural Service, Economic Research Service, World Agricultural Outlook Board, National Agricultural Statistics Service, and Agricultural Marketing Service. Mann Library at Cornell University developed and maintains the site.

USDA Economic Research Service (ERS) - Research and analysis covering Agricultural economy, Food and nutrition, Food safety, Global Markets and Trade, Resources and environment, and Rural economy.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) - USDA statistical reports, surveys and services.
USDA sites search - Search across the web sites of all the USDA's 29 agencies and offices.
California Department of Food And Agriculture (CDFA)

CA.gov - The state of California's official web portal. Search by keyword. Includes an alphabetical listing of all CA state agencies.

For Rules and Regulations

Also See

Agriculture research guide
Guide to Agriculture Research in the Cal Poly Pomona Library. Covers Animal Science, Agribusiness & Food Industry Management, Agricultural Education, Food Science, Human Nutrition and Plant Science.