Guides: ABM 3130 Food and Agriculture Policy: Home

Introduction

Welcome to this research guide! If you are off-campus, many of the resources featured here require that you login with your BroncoName and BroncoPassword.

Recommended databases

From the Library (requires CPP login):

AGRICOLA
Agriculture, animal science, foods & nutrition, and landscape architecture. Look for the "Find IT!" button after clicking on the title of the desired article.
EconLit
EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books, and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.

Use Interlibrary Loan service to request articles we don't have

On the open Web:

AgEcon Search: Research in Agricultural and Applied Economics
Free-to-use Web site containing the full text of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development. Content includes conference presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations. Contributors include academic institutions, government agencies, professional associations, and non-government organizations.

Additional Library databases

For Market situation and Industry analysis

IBISWorld
U.S., China, Canada, and global industry market research reports. Funded by the College of Business Administration. Read more about this resource.
Market Share Reporter
Market share data compiled from published sources. Search by company, brand, or industry.
Value Line
Tracks over 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities. Estimates, projections and historical data. Maximum 10 simultaneous users. If the maximum number of users has been reached, please wait a few minutes, and then refresh your browser.

For assistance with accessibility issues please contact Julie Shen, jshen@cpp.edu, 909-869-4330.

For News and Research articles

ABI/INFORM Complete
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Industry reports by country. Part of Proquest Databases. Read more about this resource or visit the help page.
Business Source Premier
Business news and analysis. Peer-reviewed research. Case studies and SWOT analyses. Country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review. Read more about this resource or watch a how-to video.
ProQuest Databases
Search platform for a wide range of multi-disciplinary subject areas, including agriculture, alternative publications, biology, business, country reports, dissertations and theses, education, ethnic and gender issues, geosciences, historical Los Angeles Times and New York Times, literature, PTSD, sociology, and US and global news.

Use Interlibrary Loan service to request articles we don't have

For Company information

All databases above, plus these:

Company Investigator
This database, as part of Westlaw, provides information on domestic and international public and private companies ranging from corporate filings, news, business subsidiaries, organizational structures and changes, financial information, and more. At the Westlaw homepage, click on the Company Investigator link to access the search. Check this screenshot for the link's location.

Recommended sources

For NAICS codes

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

For Background information, reports, and statistics

CRS Reports - Public access to research reports produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. CRS reports cover major government policy issues and present the impact of proposed alternatives. Reports range from several pages to more than one-hundred pages. Search by keywords or explore Topics that include "Agriculture, Food & Rural Policy," "Commerce & Small Business," "Energy & Natural Resources," and "Labor & Employment."

World Agricultural Supply & Demand Estimates (WASDE) - This full-text monthly report provides the most current USDA forecasts of U.S. and world supply-use balances of major grains, soybeans and products, and cotton; and U.S. supply and use of sugar and livestock products.

USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System - Reports and datasets from five agencies of the USDA, covering U.S. and international agriculture and related topics. Agencies include: Foreign Agricultural Service, Economic Research Service, World Agricultural Outlook Board, National Agricultural Statistics Service, and Agricultural Marketing Service. Mann Library at Cornell University developed and maintains the site.

USDA Economic Research Service (ERS) - Research and analysis covering Agricultural economy, Food and nutrition, Food safety, Global Markets and Trade, Resources and environment, and Rural economy.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) - USDA statistical reports, surveys and services.
USDA sites search - Search across the web sites of all the USDA's 29 agencies and offices.
USA.gov - The U.S. government’s official web portal. Search across all federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government websites. Most government websites end in .GOV or .MIL, but many end in .COM, .ORG, .EDU, or other top-level domains. Search by keyword, browse by Topics and Services, or look up an agency for its summarized description and details.
Site:USA.gov - Google domain search of USA.gov. For a little more search control and some sorting options.

California Department of Food And Agriculture (CDFA)
Boards & Commissions (CDFA)
CA.gov - The state of California's official web portal. Search by keyword. Includes an alphabetical listing of all CA state agencies.

Also see

Agriculture research guide
Guide to Agriculture Research in the Cal Poly Pomona Library. Covers Animal Science, Agribusiness & Food Industry Management, Agricultural Education, Food Science, Human Nutrition and Plant Science.

QR code for this ABM 3130 guide.