Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library

Accessibility

EBSCO Databases

All EBSCOhost databases provide a text to speech option for HTML Full Text articles. However, many articles are not available in HTML. When you have located an article, click on HTML Full Text and there will be an option to listen. You can also download these audio files in MP3 format.

Newer PDFs in EBSCO are ADA compliant. EBSCO Publishing began providing its scanned PDFs with an Optical Character Reader (OCR) text layer in September 2004.

For more information:

List of EBSCO databases with the Read Aloud Feature

EBSCO eBook Accessibility User Guide and FAQs

Gale Databases

Gale Databases (such as Opposing Viewpoints in Context and Contemporary Authors,) provide a Listen function for full-text articles. Wherever the Listen icon is present (Gale Lister ), there is the option to have the document read aloud. The Listen tool also allows you to download the audio file as a MP3.

For more information

ProQuest Databases

ProQuest databases contain many PDFs which are ADA compliant. However, older content was created from scanned images of original text that is not accessible to screen readers. This content is identified throughout ProQuest with the label 'Scanned image PDF.'

For more information: