AG 1110: Agriculture: The Foundation of Civilizations

Welcome to this research guide! If you are off-campus, many of the resources featured here require that you login with your BroncoName and BroncoPassword.

Helpful links:

• Using OneSearch (video tutorials) - How to Find Books (4:52), E-books (3:12), and Articles (6:22)
• Tips for creating advanced keyword searches
• How do I place an Item on Hold?
• Need a book or article we don't have? Use our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service! See this short video or FAQ to learn how.
• Ways to get research help from CPP Library

OneSearch actually searches across these databases but you may find it easier to search in one database at a time to better control your search. Search tips are available in this guide (link) and in the Agriculture research guide (link) but please do reach out to the librarian if you have any questions or need any assistance.

History-focused databases

Multiple-subject databases

Helpful for background information

Reference sources (e.g., encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks) and other books in these databases can help your understanding as you work by providing authoritative summary information and brief explanations (from the reference sources) and additional background information or context (from the books).

These tips can be used, in general, with the Library's OneSearch, databases, and on the open Web.

Try Boolean operators or connectors

• AND = Fewer results. All of your search terms must be found in the results. EXAMPLE: agriculture AND economic history. You could also just type: agriculture economic history.

• OR = More results. Any one or more of your search terms must be found in a result. EXAMPLE: innovation OR invention.

• NOT = Fewer results. Word(s) must be excluded from the results. EXAMPLE: NOT review. The word "review" would be excluded.

Try a phrase search

• Find words that appear in a particular order. Type the words in order between quotation marks. EXAMPLE: "Little Ice Age"

Try a truncation search

• Finds words that start with certain letters. Type a word stem, then add an asterisk symbol. EXAMPLE: Farm* will find farm, farmed, farmer, farming.

Try a nested search

• Use parentheses to separate search statements so they can be combined and performed in order. Statements inside parentheses are searched first, and the order of operations is left to right. EXAMPLE: agrarian (innovation OR invention).

Try an index or field search

• Find words in a particular index or field. For example, you can search for words within the Title, Abstract, or Subject field.

Below are example searches you can modify in OneSearch, per your topic:

• EXAMPLE 1: Subject contains history AND Title contains (agricultural OR agriculture OR agronomy OR agrarian OR farming) ... Click here to see results of that search.
  • Modifications you can try on the search:
    • Filter the results to just Books ... Click here to see the Books filter applied.
    • Filter the Books to created from 1990 onward ... Click here to see the Books filter and Creation Date applied.
    • Try adding keywords to find results about your country, region, time period, or other focus (e.g., Japan, Mesoamerica, antiquity, innovations)

• EXAMPLE 2: Subject contains agriculture AND Title contains history AND Title contains (agricultural OR agriculture OR agronomy OR agrarian OR farming) ... Click here to see results of that search filtered to just Books.