Guides: A Guide to Resources in Basic Archival Preservation: Home

Welcome! to A Guide to Resources in Basic Archival Preservation!

Basic Archival Preservation Resources

Welcome to Preservation Resources!

Whether you’re an archivist, librarian, student, researcher, family historian, or someone who simply wants to care for your personal collections — these resources are available to help you preserve materials that matter to you.

Below you’ll find links to online readings, webinars, and downloadable guides covering basic preservation practices. These resources can help you learn simple ways to protect your documents, photographs, audio, video, and digital files at home or in your organization.

You’ll find practical guidance on caring for:

Documents, correspondence, and other paper-based objects
Printed photographs, photographic negatives, and slides
Audiovisual objects (film reels, audio reels, etc.)
"Born-digital" objects (audiovisual files, scanned/digitized objects, etc.)

If you have additional questions, contact Andrew Kopp at adkopp@cpp.edu or email Cal Poly Pomona SC&A at speccollections@cpp.edu.

Northeast Document Conservation Center (NEDCC)
NEDCC specializes in preserving paper, film, and audio materials, offering conservation, digitization, and training, and serves clients nationwide. NEDCC offers free and paid webinars, online information, and downloads to assist with basic archival preservation.
“Ready — or Not: Cultural Heritage Disaster Preparedness Project”
The “Ready—Or Not”: Cultural Heritage Disaster Preparedness Project provides free emergency preparedness services to California organizations that care for cultural and historic resources (e.g., archives, libraries, museums, and tribal nations).
Society of American Archivists (SAA)
The Society of American Archivists is North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of more than 6,200 professional archivists employed by governments, universities, businesses, libraries, and historical organizations nationally.
Society of California Archivists (SCA)
The Society of California Archivists supports and develops the education of those who collect, care for, and provide access to the documentary heritage of California and adjoining areas to encourage public interest and public support for archival facilities in public and private institutions.

Recommended Preservation Links

California Revealed
California Revealed is a statewide initiative that helps public libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and other heritage groups digitize, preserve, and provide online access to archival materials documenting the state's histories, arts, and cultures. We also provide access and preservation services for organizations with existing digital collections and/or in-house digitization programs. We offer additional support and assistance for cataloging, community archiving, and K-12 curriculum development, and provide training and support for Memory Labs at public libraries across California.
New York State Archives
The State Archives provides technical assistance, training and grants to non-government repositories that preserve historical materials through our Documentary Heritage Program and Documentary Heritage and Preservation Services for New York (DHPSNY).
National Archives
Free, regularly scheduled professional development workshops for educators explore how to use primary sources to delve into the big ideas of the founding documents of the United States. During each interactive program, participants will engage with primary sources and partake in collaborative group work and discussion to discover how to use National Archives resources and programs to teach civic knowledge and skills.
Hollinger Metal Edge
For over 80 years, Hollinger Metal Edge has been the trusted leader in providing archival and museum storage solutions to government and institutional archives, historical societies, museums, libraries, universities, galleries, and private collectors from all over the world. Our experienced management and staff are committed to delivering exceptional quality, outstanding customer service, and competitive pricing.
Gaylord Archival
Henry and Willis Gaylord founded Gaylord Archival and have been serving cultural and educational institutions for over 125 years. Gaylord Archival handcrafts countless products, such as archival-quality boxes, folders, sleeves and binders, and offers the largest selection of exclusive exhibit case lines, as well as custom casework.
Library of Congress
Proper Care and Handling of Scrapbooks and Albums - Taking care when handling any collection item, especially functional and composite items like scrapbooks and albums with flexing parts and various media, is one of the more effective, cost-efficient, and easily achieved preservation measures.
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Generalized guidelines for preserving and caring or personal archives.

A Guide to Resources in Basic Archival Preservation

Project Archivist

Andrew's Information

The Power of Archival Practice

CPP Special Collections and Archives

CPP Links

Welcome! to A Guide to Resources in Basic Archival Preservation!

Basic Archival Preservation Resources

Recommended Preservation Links