Skip to main content

University Library

BUS 1010 Business Freshman Experience (formerly BUS 101)

Recommended resources for BUS1010 students.

Recommended Titles

Recommended Sources for Assignments

Credible Sources Assignment Essential Skills Assignment

1. ProQuest Newsstand

  • Library database that has access to full-text articles from 1,500+ U.S. and international newspapers (e.g., The New York Times, Los Angeles Times).

1. Gale Virtual Reference Library

  • Library database which includes encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works on various subjects.

2. Google News

  • Google site provides access to news articles from a variety of sources – local, national, and international news.

2. Academic Search Premier

  • General research database with access to journals, newspapers, magazines, & other publications. Covers business, education, history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, science, and technology.

3. Kanopy

  • Multidisciplinary streaming video service, licensed for classroom use and viewable on a range of devices and platforms.

 

 

Web Search Tips

Many online sources are plagiarized or of questionable quality. When using online sources, ask yourself the following questions: Who is the author? What are his/her credentials? What possible biases exist? When was this source published?

Google logo by Ruth Kedar
Logo by R. Kedar (1999)

Cite Your Sources

When writing a paper or creating a project, you need to cite everything that you did not write or create yourself. This includes articles, books, maps, videos, statistics. Citing your sources means that you follow a specific format to show what source you used. Below are some examples:

Citing an article: Kim, D., & Ra, Y. (2015). What impacts success in college? Findings from the perceptions of Korean students. College Student Journal, 49(1), 161-168.

Citing a book: Santrock, J., & Halonen, J. (2010). Your guide to college success: Strategies for achieving your goals (6th ed.). Boston, MA: Wadsworth Cengage Learning.

ZoteroBib is an easy useful website that will create your citation for you. This means

Meet your librarians!

Meet your librarians!
  Jennifer Bidwell Julie Shen
Photo Jennifer Bidwell Julie Shen
Title Assistant Business Librarian Business & Computer Science Librarian
Office Hours

Mondays 10:00am-12:00 noon
Wednesdays 1:00-2:00pm
Also available by appointment.

Mondays & Tuesdays 2:00-4:00pm
‚ÄčAlso available by appointment.

Office Location Library, building 15, 2nd floor, room 2334E Library, building 15, 2nd floor, room 2334D
Email jabidwell@cpp.edu jshen@cpp.edu
Phone (909) 869-3098 (909) 869-4330

 

Related Links

Recommended Library Resources