Guides: Animal Health Science (AHS): Welcome

Introduction

Welcome to this research guide! Many of the resources featured in this guide require that you login with your BroncoName and BroncoPassword. If you have any questions, please contact libraryhelp@cpp.edu. You may also chat with a librarian 24/7 using Library Chat.

OneSearch - Find Books, Articles, Journals, and more

OneSearch is the Library's search engine

With a single search you can find books, articles, and other materials on any research topic. If you have any questions, please ask us!

Helpful links:

Using OneSearch (video tutorials) - How to Find Books (4:52), E-books (3:12), and Articles (6:22)
How can you tell if a source will be good for your assignment? Also, what is a Scholarly journal, versus a Newspaper or Magazine?
Tips for creating keyword searches
How do I place an Item on Hold?
Need a book or article we don't have? Use our Interlibrary Loan service! See this short video or FAQ to learn how.
Ways to get research help from CPP Library

Recommended Databases for Animal Health Science

If you are getting too many search results using OneSearch, you may want to try one of these Library databases:

Academic Search Premier
AGRICOLA
Agriculture, animal science, foods & nutrition, and landscape architecture. Look for the "Find IT!" button after clicking on the title of the desired article.
Biological Abstracts
Journal articles in the life sciences and biomedical research.
Biological and Agricultural Index Plus
Contains citations to articles from more than 250 journals. Subject coverage includes all of the biological sciences with about 45% of the focus on agriculture.
ProQuest Databases
PubAg
PubAg is part of SEARCH, the USDA National Agricultural Library’s main search tool. PubAg is the portal to peer-reviewed journal articles of USDA-authored and other agricultural research. It covers core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education.
PubMed
Provides access to the Medline database and other biomedical sources. Medline is a worldwide Index to medical literature (including sports medicine) and supporting disciplines (including human nutrition and animal science). Look for the "Find IT!" button after clicking on the title of the desired article. Access the public version of PubMed here.

If you need to cast a wider net for your search, try OneSearch (above) or one of these options:

Scopus

Scopus is Elsevier's abstracting and indexing database that indexes content from thousands of scholarly books, journals, and conference proceedings over a wide range of disciplines. Scopus also provides access to detailed author profiles and analytical tools to compare journals, citation impact, and citation trends.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides seamless access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Over 10,000 journals are indexed in this multidisciplinary database. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. 1991 to present.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google's academic search engine. It can be used to find publications from reputable publishers and institutions. To connect Google Scholar results to the Library's databases, follow these steps: At Google Scholar, click on SETTINGS, then click on LIBRARY LINKS, add CAL POLY POMONA, and click SAVE. In your Google Scholar search results look for FIND IT CAL POLY POMONA.

See other recommended databases for Animal & Veterinary Sciences at the Library's Databases page.

Recommended Journals

This is a sample list of peer-reviewed journals related to Animal Health Science research.

Use these links to work with the list of journal titles:

Applied Animal Behaviour Science
California Veterinarian - Print issues are in the library. Note: The California Veterinary Medical Association has posted some recent issues of California Veterinarian that you can read free online.
Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association (JAAHA)
Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA)
Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery
Journal of Veterinary Behavior
Journal of Veterinary Dentistry
The Veterinary Nurse
Veterinary Evidence

See more recommended journals at the library's Animal Science guide.

Additional Recommended Resources

Organizations and Publications on the open Web:

Organizations

Publications

Animal Health and Welfare resources (from the USDA)
California Veterinarian
Official publication of the California Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA). Some recent issues are free to read online. Print issues are in the library.
dvm360.com
The dvm360.com website positions itself as a “one-stop guide to everything veterinary.” Find in-depth analysis of news affecting veterinary professionals. You can also browse dvm360 magazine issues and other publications at the website.
Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM)
Find thousands of topics in all veterinary fields with current information authored by veterinary experts. MVM is a freely-available resource on the open Web.
Today's Veterinary Nurse
An official journal of the North American Veterinary Community (NAVC). Most articles are peer-reviewed. "TVN is dedicated to improving and supporting the skill set and professional development of veterinary nurses and assistants as they advance their career." See the current issue and past issues.
Today's Veterinary Practice
An official journal of the North American Veterinary Community (NAVC). Most articles are peer-reviewed. Standard-of-care and cutting-edge clinical information for the companion animal veterinary practitioner.
Veterinary Nursing Journal
Published by the British Veterinary Nursing Association.

Get Research Help

Call us!

Call the Research Help Office (909) 869-3084

In-person help

Visit the Research Help Office for in-person help

Find a Subject Librarian

Email or call Subject Librarians for help with in-depth research

Text a Librarian

For research help: Text or email us at libraryhelp@cpp.edu (Monday-Friday).

To report noisy disturbances in the Library: Text 909-365-1545 or email libcirc@cpp.edu.

FAQ

Self-Help

Library Chat

Also See

Agriculture research guide
Guide to Agriculture Research in the Cal Poly Pomona Library. Covers Animal Science, Agribusiness & Food Industry Management, Agricultural Education, Food Science, Human Nutrition and Plant Science.

Animal Health Science (AHS)

Library Events and Workshops

Librarian Profile