Guides: ARC 4610 Research Guide: Images and Maps

Content for Reuse

Finding Content for Reuse
The Finding Content for Reuse Library Guide provides information about how to find public domain or Creative Commons multimedia online for reuse for both commercial and non-commercial purposes.

Maps and Aerial Photographs

Library of Congress Maps are forms part of the Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Collection in the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress

Google Earth: zoom in from "space" to an address, a landmark (including architectural works), or any point on the globe specified by latitude/longitude coordinates. Users can superimpose layers such as "3D buildings." Requires free download to access historical images.

Microsoft Research Maps: provides access to U.S. Geological Survey digital aerial photographs and digital topographic maps.

University of Texas at Austin Perry Castañeda Library Map Collection: index to a wide variety of online map resources including historical views of American cities.

Find Images

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Primary index for architectural journal literature. This database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions. It contains over 600,000 entries surveying over 2,500 American and international journals, including many that are peer reviewed. Publications from professional associations and regional periodicals are also included.
ARTStor
is a digital library of more than one million high-resolution images. Includes an extensive collection of photographs and plans of architectural works including building exteriors, interiors, elements, fixtures, furniture and more. Create an account for more functions as a registered Cal Poly Pomona library user.
Library of Congress American Memory Architecture and Landscape Collections
provides access to photos and drawings of American buildings and works of landscape architecture.
Great Buildings Collection
over 1,000 buildings and hundreds of leading architects represented with photographs and architectural drawings, maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more.

ARC 4610 Research Guide

Library Call Numbers...

HT — Cities, Urban Development. Race, Caste

NA — Architecture

NK — Decorative Arts, Interior Design

SB — Plant Culture (Landscape Architecture)

Research & Instruction Librarian

Content for Reuse

Maps and Aerial Photographs

Find Images

Sources for Original (Archival) Material