Copyright in Library Streaming Services

This guide provides an overview of streaming multimedia resources available at the University Library, with a specific focus on recommended copyright practices relevant to streaming media use.

For general information on copyright and fair use, including applications for research, writing, and other projects, please refer to our LibGuide on Copyright and Fair Use.

For campus specific policies at Cal Poly Pomona, please review the Using Copyrighted Materials Policy and Acceptable Use Policy.

As noted in our Purpose of Guide and Disclaimer, the CPP University Library does not offer legal representation or formal guidance on copyright matters.

The University Library provides a range of video and film through database subscription, which gives access to documentaries, feature films, and instructional content for class sessions, study, and academic projects. The Library provides access to over 130,000 licensed streaming titles through popular institutional services like Kanopy or Academic Video Online (AVON). 

Use OneSearch to find video and film titles across our streaming database services. Alternatively, you can browse content directly on the original database platforms by visiting the A-Z Streaming Media list.

For assistance in locating video or film content, faculty and students are encouraged to contact their subject librarian. 

Requesting a Movie
Currently, films can be requested through Kanopy. However, at this time, only requests that support educational purposes, curricular needs, or research projects will be considered. For detailed how-to instructions, visit the Kanopy Help: Requesting access to a film page. 

For policy on new film requests, please see Submitting Kanopy Film Requests.

Public Screenings
The Library does not arrange or fund public screenings of films. Screenings outside of class sessions require Public Performance Rights (PPR), which are often needed for events like student organization meetings, film festivals, or public showings. 

Closed captioning (CC), Transcripts, and Audio Description
Contact Brinna Pam Anan, Collection Development Coordinator, at bpanan [at] cpp [dot] edu.

Contact Your CPP Subject Librarian: If an alternate title exists or if the library does not currently hold a license for the film you need, reach out to your subject librarian for possible alternatives.

Explore Other Resources: Check out our Open and Free Media tab for more information on freely available sources relevant to academic research.

Check Reelgood: Reelgood is a third-party streaming guide that helps you identify which service offers a specific movie or show. Reelgood does not guarantee free or library-subscribed access.

While it operates outside the CPP Library's collection, it can provide clarity on why a title may not be part of our subscription services. I.E. Can only be viewed on Netflix.