MTE 4220 Fracture and Failure Analysis

Case Studies in Mechanical Engineering by Stuart Sabol Using a case study approach, this reference tests the reader's ability to apply engineering fundamentals to real-world examples and receive constructive feedback Case Studies in Mechanical Engineering provides real life examples of the application of engineering fundamentals.  They relate to real equipment, real people and real decisions.  They influence careers, projects, companies, and governments.  The cases serve as supplements to fundamental courses in thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, instrumentation, economics, and statistics.  The author explains equipment and concepts to solve the problems and suggests relevant assignments to augment the cases. Graduate engineers seeking to refresh their career, or acquire continuing education will find the studies challenging and rewarding.  Each case is designed to be accomplished in one week, earning up to 15 hours of continuing education credit.  Each case study provides methods to present an argument, work with clients, recommend action and develop new business.  Key features: Highlights the economic consequences of engineering designs and decisions. Encourages problem solving skills. Application of fundamentals to life experiences. Ability to practice with real life examples. Case Studies in Mechanical Engineering is a valuable reference for mechanical engineering practitioners working in thermodynamics, fluid mechanics, heat transfer and related areas.

Beyond Failure by Norbert J. Delatte Engineering failures get a lot of attention--inciting morbid curiosity and fueling concern over the condition of our infrastructure. But every engineering loss is the start of a forensic investigation into how, why, and what can be done to prevent future failures. As with scientific failures, engineering failures can be very instructive in teaching us what does not work. Beyond Failure presents the circumstances of important failures that have had far-reaching impacts on civil engineering practice. Each case study narrates the known facts: design and construction, the failure, subsequent investigation or analysis, and, where appropriate, additional issues such as technical concerns, ethical considerations, professional practice issues, and long-term effects. The case studies are organized around eight common topics of undergraduate engineering courses and include teaching points and a reading list, so this book is useful to engineering faculty and students. With more than 40 full cases, including the Silver Bridge collapse in Point Pleasant, WV; the levee breaches in New Orleans, LA; and the Challenger space shuttle explosion, this book will also appeal to practicing engineers with an interest in forensic investigations or the analysis of historic failures. About the Author Norbert J. Delatte Jr., Ph.D., P.E., is a professor in the Civil and Environmental Engineering Department of Cleveland State University. He is also the editor of ASCE's Journal of Professional Issues in Engineering Education and Practice href=http: //ascelibrary.org/epo/ target=_blankJournal of Professional Issues in Engineering Education and Practice.

Failure Case Studies in Civil Engineering by Paul A. Bosela; Norbert J. Delatte (Editor); Kevin M. Parfitt (Editor) Sponsored by the Technical Council on Forensic Engineering of ASCE. Failure Case Studies in Civil Engineering: Structures, Foundations, and the Geoenvironment, Second Edition, provides short descriptions of 50 real-world examples of constructed works that did not perform as intended. Designed for classroom use, each case study contains a brief summary, lessons learned, and references to key sources. This new edition, which replaces the 1995 classic edited by Robin Shepherd and J. David Frost, offers expanded descriptions, additional photographs and diagrams, and updated references. It also includes new case studies, such as the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building, the Charles de Gaulle Airport Terminal, and the North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Water Treatment Plant. Topics include: foundation failures; embankment, dam, and slope failures; geoenvironmental failures; bridge failures; and building failures. This book supplies valuable resource material on typical failures that can be integrated into undergraduate engineering courses. Engineering professors and their students will use this book as the basis for class discussions, a starting point for further research, and a demonstration of how each failure leads to improved engineering design and safety.

Failure Case Studies by Navid Nastar (Editor); Rui Liu (Editor) Failure Case Studies: Steel Structures, provides case studies of failures observed in steel structures between 1970 and 2013. This book supplies a summary of the published findings from eight steel structure failure investigations and a valuable collection of references that can be used by civil engineering students and practicing engineers to improve their failure literacy. Engineering professors and students can use these case studies as the basis for class discussions, a starting point for further research, and a reminder that learning from past failures can avoid similar failures in the future and lead to improved engineering practices. Practicing engineers can use the book as a continuing education resource to improve their practice and to avoid similar failures. Failure Case Studies: Steel Structures, provides case studies of failures observed in steel structures between 1970 and 2013. This book supplies a summary of the published findings from eight steel structure failure investigations and a valuable collection of references that can be used by civil engineering students and practicing engineers to improve their failure literacy. Engineering professors and students can use these case studies as the basis for class discussions, a starting point for further research, and a reminder that learning from past failures can avoid similar failures in the future and lead to improved engineering practices. Practicing engineers can use the book as a continuing education resource to improve their practice and to avoid similar failures. Prepared by the Education Committee of the Forensic Engineering Division of the American Society of Civil Engineers Failure Case Studies: Steel Structures, provides case studies of failures observed in steel structures between 1970 and 2013. Designed to promote learning from failures by disseminating information regarding previous failure cases, each case study is comprised of a summary description of a documented civil engineering failure followed by lessons learned from the failure and references for further study. Case studies include West Gate bridge collapse University of Washington stadium collapse Damage to steel moment resisting frames during the Northridge Earthquake Colorado State Route 470 overpass collapse Pittsburgh Convention Center expansion joint failure I-35W bridge collapse Elliot Lake Algo mall collapse; and Skagit River Bridge collapse. This book supplies a summary of the published findings from eight steel structure failure investigations and a valuable collection of references that can be used by civil engineering students and practicing engineers to improve their failure literacy. Engineering professors and students can use these case studies as the basis for class discussions, a starting point for further research, and a reminder that learning from past failures can avoid similar failures in the future and lead to improved engineering practices. Practicing engineers can use the book as a continuing education resource to improve their practice and to avoid similar failures.