Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Electrical & Computer Engineering

This guide will help you find the information you need for your ECE projects and research.

Databases for ECE Research

The most important database for ECE students is IEEE Xplore and this guide has an entire section devoted to Xplore (see IEEE Xplore page). Often it is the only database students use, but this is a mistake. Before you move on to IEEE Xplore, take a few minutes to read about a few other databases you should use. You want to be sure to use databases that cover a range of publishers, not just IEEE. Try:

Look for Find It! in your search results for links to articles. FindIt button

About OneSearch

OneSearch is the Library's all purpose search interface. OneSearch brings in search results (books, articles, more) from the Library Catalog and most of our databases. OneSearch is still under development and has some quirks. Take a look at our OneSearch FAQ to learn more.

OneSearch box

 

IMPORTANT!  OneSearch does not actually search everything. OneSearch does NOT search Compendex, our primary engineering database, and it does not search the full text of other important engineering resources such as IEEE Xplore or Knovel.

Featured links showing databases linkGo ahead and try OneSearch, but for most of your engineering research you will have better results if you use one of the databases recommended for your major. Look for the Databases link in the Featured Links area of the Library homepage.

Using the Compendex Database

Take a few minutes to look at some training videos and tips for Compendex:

Google Scholar

If you can't find what you need in the databases listed on this page, try Google Scholar. It searches a vast range of journals and other academic resources.

When using Google Scholar you can tell it you're affiliated with the Cal Poly Pomona Library. That way you can easily link to articles and other documents that are part of our collection. Click the Settings icon at the top of the screen. Select Library Links, type the name of your library, check it, click SAVE.

In your Google Scholar search results look for FIND IT CAL POLY POMONA.