Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Computer Science

Recommended resources for computer science majors

Web Search Tips

Many online sources are plagiarized or of questionable quality. When using online sources, ask yourself the following questions: Who is the author? What are his/her credentials? What possible biases exist? When was this source published?

Google logo by Ruth Kedar
Logo by R. Kedar (1999)

Computer Science

The Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies References to journal articles, conference papers, and technical reports; over 1.4 million entries.

CiteSeer.IST A broad, fully indexed, database of research papers in computer science. Includes a citation searching/linking feature. Also see OAIster.

The Computing Research Repository (CoRR) Sponsored by ACM, the Los Alamos e-Print archive, and NCSTRL -- access to reports and preprints.

IRMA - Information Resources Management Association Offers free proceeding papers for download.

Careers in Computer Science Includes degrees, Women in CS.

The Internet "An elegantly organized tour of the Internet, both fun and informative, a rare combination!" Internet, web, email, Usenet, IRC, Usenet, MUDs, lists... history, design, use and more.

 

Computer Science Dictionaries, Directories, and Other Reference Tools

BABEL: A Glossary of Computer Oriented Abbreviations and Acronyms

Computer Security Resource Center Maintained by NIST's Computer Security Division (National Institute of Standards and Technology).

Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing FOLDOC is a searchable dictionary of definitions, acronyms, jargon, history, facts, and more.

Help-Site Computer Manuals Directory of websites providing documentation, FAQs, tutorials, manuals, and official and unofficial support sites for DOS, Linux, Mac, Unix, Windows, and more.

Programmers Heaven Over 29,000 files, links, and articles. Covers programming languages, platforms, applications, web development, and more.

Webopedia An online dictionary and search engine for computer and internet technology.

Electrical and Computer Engineering

IEEE - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers 
Member services, information about publications and standards, technical society activities, conferences. Students should visit the Career and Employment Resources section.

IEEE Author Digital Tool Box 
Check out these resources when your professor tells you to use IEEE format for your reports.

ACM - Association for Computing Machinery 
The ACM Student Web has interesting and useful career information; e.g., articles, opportunities, career opportunities, and grad assistantship directory. The site also offers a Career Resource Centre and and Graduate Student Resources.

SPIE - The International Society for Optical Engineering 
Association news.

Electrical & Computer Engineering Design Resources

EE Product Center
Comprehensive resource for integrated circuits and other electronic products.

EEM, Electronic Engineers Master
Search for parts, find datasheets and other design information. Free registration required.

ICMaster
Another website for parts and datasheets.

ThomasNet 
Searchable directory of all manufactured products; links to catalogs and company web sites.

Lexicon of Semiconductor Terms 
Definitions of terms; includes "How Semiconductors are Made."