Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Materials Engineering

Library resources for materials information and tips for getting started on your research.

ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library

STP cover image "Bearing Steel Technologies"

ASTM Compass is the platform for ASTM's Science & Engineering Digital Library. This database provides access to thousands of documents covering metals and materials, testing and processing:

* all current ASTM Standards
* journals, books, and manuals published by ASTM
* STPs (Special Technical Publications) and data series

Register for a personal account to take advantage of annotation, bookmark, and sharing tools.

Commonly Cited Standards

To obtain standards not available in the Library, contact the Engineering librarian: prhottinger@cpp.edu for assistance.

ACI  
The ACI Manual of Concrete Practice contains ACI's most widely used codes and specifications, including Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete and Commentary.

ANSI
The American National Standards Institute administers and coordinates the US private sector standardization system and facilitates the development of American National Standards (ANS). Search for standards by keyword or document number at the ANSI Standards Store.

ANSI Incorporated by Reference (IBR) Standards Portal
Access to standards that have been incorporated by reference into the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). "Read only"; no prining or downloading.

ASME 
ASME produces standards related to piping, fittings, cranes, elevators, screw threads, and other areas of interest to ASME. The ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code is a well known publication. We have the 2013 edition of Section VIII, Division 1 in Reserve (2 hr checkout). Section II is available in the Knovel ebook collection.

ASTM Compass  
Originally called the American Society for Testing and Materials, ASTM produces over 12,000 standards for materials, products, systems, and services. ASTM Compass is the platform for the Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL). Our subscription includes all current ASTM standards, plus the content from ASTM journals, and other publications - reports, symposia, STPs, monographs, and data series.

Caltrans (CA Department of Transportation)
Searchable database for Caltrans standards, as well as the full 2022 Standards Plans, Standard Specifications, SSPs, and Contract Item Codes

IEEE  
Our IEEE Xplore subscription includes the IEEE standards. Browse or search the standards by keyword or document number.

NFPA  
The National Fire Codes is a compilation of codes, standards, recommended practices, and guides from the National Fire Protection Association. We have the 2009 edition of the National Fire Codes in Reference, TH9111.N375a. NFPA 70 is the National Electrical Code (NEC).

SAE  
We have the SAE Ground Vehicle standards (sometimes called J-Reports) available in the SAE Handbook.  You can search the SAE Standards database but we do not have access to the full text standards on the SAE website. We do not have the SAE Aerospace or Aerospace Materials Standards (AMS).

International Standards

IEC
The International Electrotechnical Commission prepares and publishes international standards for all electrical, electronic and related technologies. Search or browse the IEC standards at the IEC Webstore.

ISO
The International Organization for Standardization is a non-governmental organization and the world's largest developer of international standards. The ISO 9000 family of standards for quality management is a well known ISO product. Search or browse the ISO Standards catalogue.

Military Standards

If you do business with a defense contractor or a company that does business with the US government you will likely encounter Military Standards. Typcial acronyms include MIL-STD, MIL-SPEC, MIL-HDBK. You can often find copies of these on the web.

For more information: