Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering Technology

A guide to Library resources and research for Engineering Technology students.

Databases

Databases provide subject access to journal articles, papers, reports and other publications.You can use OneSearch, but you can save time and get more targeted search results with specialized, subject focused databases. These are some of the most useful databases for engineering research:

Compendex (Engineering Village)
From Engineering Information. Indexes over 2600 journals published worldwide in all engineering disciplines and the applied sciences. Compendex also covers conference papers, reports, and publications of engineering societies. 

IEEE Xplore
Journals, conferences, and standards from IEEE.

Web of Science
Provides seamless access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Over 10,000 journals are indexed in this multidisciplinary database. 1991 to present.

If you need articles about companies or industries, try these databases:

Look for Find It! in your search results for links to articles. FindIt button

IMPORTANT!  OneSearch (search box on Library Homepage) does NOT search Compendex, our primary engineering database, and it does not search the full text of other important engineering resources such as IEEE Xplore or Knovel.

Databases for General News, Business, Company, and Industry Information

If you need articles about companies or industries or current civil engineering projects in the news, try these databases:

Using the Compendex Database

Take a few minutes to look at some training videos and tips for Compendex:

Google Scholar

If you can't find what you need in the databases listed on this page, try Google Scholar. It searches a vast range of journals and other academic resources.

When using Google Scholar you can tell it you're affiliated with the Cal Poly Pomona Library. That way you can easily link to articles and other documents that are part of our collection. Click the Settings icon at the top of the screen. Select Library Links, type the name of your library, check it, click SAVE.

In your Google Scholar search results look for FIND IT CAL POLY POMONA.