Guides: ME 3070 Alternative Energy Systems: Find Articles

Finding Articles Using OneSearch

Databases for Engineering & Scientific Information

Databases provide subject access to journal articles, papers, reports and other publications. Use these databases to find technical and scientific articles on alternative energy topics:

Look for Find It! in your search results for links to articles.

Compendex/Engineering Village
From Engineering Information. Indexes over 2600 journals published worldwide in all engineering disciplines and the applied sciences. Compendex also covers conference papers, reports, and publications of engineering societies
IEEE Xplore
Journals, conferences, and standards from IEEE and IET (electrical, electronics, computing); excellent coverage of many energy topics.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides seamless access to Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Over 10,000 journals are indexed in this multidisciplinary database. 1991 to present.
GreenFILE
Covers all aspects of the human impact to the environment - global warming, green building, renewable energy, sustainability, pollution, etc.

Databases for Economic, Social, Political Issues Related to Energy

News and non-technical information (business, political, economic, social) about alternative energy systems can be found in the following databases. Most of these provide full-text articles.

Academic Search Premier
Journals and magazines in all subject areas.
Westlaw
State and federal laws, regulations, court cases. Also general and business news.

Proquest Newsstand
Newspapers are an excellent resource for current information on energy technologies, and the social, economic, and political issues.

Finding Articles in Google Scholar

https://scholar.google.com/