Welcome to this research guide! Many of the resources featured in this guide require that you login with your BroncoName and BroncoPassword.
With a single search you can find books, articles, and other materials on any research topic. If you have any questions, please ask us!
Library reference sources include subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. They are useful starting points for learning basic and summarized Country information. Use them to form a mental picture and develop questions. Be sure to note specific keywords and concepts about the country's history, economy, ethnic groups, populations, food or cuisine, culture, and traditions. Then use those questions and keywords to focus your searches in the Library's OneSearch, databases, and on the open Web.
From your OneSearch results, use the RESOURCE TYPE filter to choose REFERENCE ENTRIES. The filtered results will be entries, articles, and chapters from encyclopedias, handbooks, and other library reference sources that contain your search terms. Example: See these REFERENCE ENTRIES for the country of Sao Tome and Principe.
Try OneSearch if you are not sure where to start: OneSearch will point you to books and articles from most of these Library's databases! If you need to find something particular like cultural images or a nutrition-related article from a medical journal, then looking in specific databases like the ones below can save you time. If you have any questions, please reach out for assistance!
Bloomsbury Food Library contains global coverage of the history of food, food cultures, food safety, food ethics, and other topics related to food in the form of reference works, e-books, images, and other primary resources.
Ethnic Diversity Source provides 465 full-text, peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers; over 4,500 e-books; biographies; and over 6,300 primary source documents covering the lived experiences of African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinx Americans, Native Americans, and other ethnic groups.
Multi-subject database; articles from journals & other publications. Covers business, education, history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, science, and technology.
Search platform for a wide range of multi-disciplinary subject areas, including agriculture, alternative publications, biology, business, country reports, dissertations and theses, education, ethnic and gender issues, geosciences, historical Los Angeles Times and New York Times, literature, PTSD, sociology, and US and global news.
Searches back runs of scholarly journals; art & architecture, language & literature, history, economics, social sciences, mathematics, ecology and music. JSTOR now includes some current issues for selected titles. Ebooks from scholarly publishers are also available.
Provides access to the Medline database and other biomedical sources. Medline is a worldwide Index to medical literature (including sports medicine) and supporting disciplines (including human nutrition and animal science). Look for the "Find IT!" button after clicking on the title of the desired article. Access the public version of PubMed here.
Scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. Also includes the full texts of The Dictionary of Art.
Scholarly articles on the musical heritage, traditions, themes, genres, practices and performance of music from every continent.
See more examples of peer-reviewed journals at the Nutrition guide:
Search the open Web more effectively with the links and tips below. Keep in mind that many online sources are plagiarized or of questionable quality. When using online sources, ask yourself the following questions:
Who is the author? -- What are her/his credentials? -- What possible biases exist? -- When was this source published?
Call us!Call the Research Help Desk @ (909) 869-3084
Visit us!Drop in at the Research Help Desk on the 2nd Floor of the University Library.
Find a Subject LibrarianSubject Librarians can help with in-depth research
Text a LibrarianFor research help: Text or email us at libraryhelp@cpp.edu (Monday-Friday).
To report noisy disturbances in the Library: Text 909-365-1545 or email libcirc@cpp.edu.
Chat with a LibrarianNeed more help? Chat in real-time with a librarian!
