Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library

NTR 2280: Food and Culture

This guide describes useful tools and resources for your individual Country project.

Welcome!

Welcome! Many of the resources featured in this guide require that you login with your BroncoName and BroncoPassword.

OneSearch - Find Books, Articles, Journals, and more

OneSearch is the Library's search engine

With a single search you can look for books, articles, and other materials on any research topic. If you have any questions, please ask us!

 
Helpful links:

Find Background Information from Library Reference Sources

Library reference sources include subject-specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks. They can be useful starting points for learning basic and summary information about a Country. Use them to form a mental picture and develop questions. Be sure to note specific keywords and concepts about the country's history, economy, ethnic groups, populations, food or cuisine, culture, and traditions. Then use those questions and keywords to focus your searches in the Library's OneSearch, databases, and on the open Web.


How to find library reference sources with OneSearch:

From your OneSearch results, use the RESOURCE TYPE filter to choose REFERENCE ENTRIES. The filtered results will be entries, articles, and chapters from encyclopedias, handbooks, and other library reference sources that contain your search terms:

Resource Type filter in OneSearch, for Reference Entries

Recommended Databases

Try OneSearch if you are unsure of which database to try. OneSearch will point you to books and articles among the Library's databases!

Journals that may be useful

Find Information on the Open Web

Google logo by Ruth Kedar
Logo by R. Kedar (1999)


Search the open Web more effectively with the links and tips below. Keep in mind that many online sources are plagiarized or of questionable quality.  When using online sources, ask yourself the following questions:

Who is the author? -- What are her/his credentials? -- What possible biases exist? -- When was this source published?


Search Tips

These tips can be used, in general, with the Library's OneSearch, databases, and on the open Web.


Tips for creating advanced keyword searches

Try Boolean operators or connectors
  • AND = Fewer results. All words must be included. EXAMPLE: American AND food AND traditions. You could also type: American food traditions

  • OR = More results. Any one or combination of the words must be included. EXAMPLE: problems OR complications

  • NOT = Fewer results. Word(s) must be excluded. EXAMPLE: corn NOT toes

Try a phrase search
  • Finds words that appear in the order typed between quotation marks. EXAMPLE: "alternative medicine"
Try a truncation search
  • Finds words that start with the letters typed before an asterisk symbol. EXAMPLE: Nutri* will find nutrient, nutrients, nutrition, nutritional, nutritionist, nutritious, nutritive
Try a nested search
  • Use parentheses to separate search statements so they can be combined and performed in order. Statements inside parentheses are searched first, and the order of operations is left to right. EXAMPLE: (greece OR greek) AND ("alternative medicine" OR "herbal medicine" OR "traditional medicine")
Try an index or field search
  • Find words in a particular index or field. EXAMPLE: search within the Title, Abstract, or Subject field

For more examples, see the Boolean Searching (science version) guide.