Guides: ABM 3040: Food & Agribusiness Marketing: Writing and Citing Help

Writing help

CPP's Learning Resource Center and its Writing Center provide tutoring on an appointment, online, and drop-in basis. Learn more about their tutoring options from their News and Events and Tutoring pages.
They Say/I Say: The Moves That Matter in Academic Writing - Borrow this book from University Library to learn "core moves of effective argumentative writing."

The Academic Phrase Bank provides "examples of some of the phraseological 'nuts and bolts' of writing." Created by John Morley at the U of Manchester. Please note: It is a British web site so you may encounter British spellings of words.

Help for citing sources

Why cite your sources?

To give credit to the creators of the information that you used in your papers, presentations, and projects
To add credibility to your argument or assertions
To help yourself avoid committing plagiarism
To share the sources you found with other researchers

For more information about avoiding plagiarism, visit CPP's Student Conduct and Integrity website.

Which citation style should you use?

Check with your instructor to be sure. Your professor may have provided guidelines and examples for the class to follow, so be sure to consult those materials.
If your professor allows you to choose a standard citation style to follow, aim for consistency when following it.

Citation tools can make life easier!

OneSearch and most of the library databases have a citation feature to help you get started. You can also create one or a few quick citations with these tools:

Noodle Tools Express
ZoteroBib, see a quick video tutorial here (from Collier Library)
Cite This For Me
Citation Builder from NSCU Libraries
Citation Machine

Or gather many references with a reference manager such as Zotero or EndNote. A reference manager can quickly create a bibliography for you, and you can choose from a variety of citation styles.

Citation tools and reference management tools are a big help but you still need to review the citations for accuracy and correct formatting. Ultimately, you are responsible for the citations that you submit for an assignment, not the citation tool.

See examples for different citation styles...

APA and MLA are two commonly-used standard citation styles, but check with your professor before using either.

For AMA style:

(American Medical Association)

AMA 11 Manual of Style e-book from the Library
Style updates and quizzes (with answer keys) from the AMA Manual of Style committee:
- AMA Style updates (March 3, 2020-)
- AMA Style quizzes & answer keys (freely available)
PubMed Journals database for journal title abbreviations to use with AMA style
SI Conversion Calculator (includes Conversion to Metric Measures, and Selected Laboratory Tests and Conversion Factors)
Help from Purdue OWL for AMA style.

For APA style: (American Psychological Association) APA is currently in its 7th edition, and the resources listed below support APA 7. Guidance on APA 6th edition is available from the Library and at the Purdue OWL website. Help from the Library: *The Concise APA Handbook.* View this e-book online. Presents APA 7 "in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions." APA Citation handout and tutorial videos. Includes anatomy of article and book citations. APA workshop materials. Includes recording of workshop, APA for Graduate Students (Spring 2021). Help from the organization behind APA style at APA Style Help. Includes: Elements of reference list entries. Examples of the most common works cited and their corresponding in-text citations. Guidance for appropriate level of citation; Guidance on paraphrasing; In-text citation checklist (PDF); Student sample papers (downloadable Word files and PDFs). Help from Purdue OWL for APA style. Create references for Books, for Articles in Periodicals, for Electronic Sources, and more. Refer to Electronic Sources examples for the sources you obtained from a library database or web site. For guidance on in-text citations, see the Basics and further guidance on Author/Authors. View an APA sample Student Paper with References list.	For MLA style: (Modern Language Association) Help from the Library: MLA Citation handout and tutorial videos. Includes anatomy of article and book citations. Help from Purdue OWL: Create references for Books, for Articles in Periodicals, for Electronic Sources, and more. Refer to Electronic Sources examples for the sources you obtained from a library database or web site. For guidance on in-text citations, see the Basics. View an MLA sample Works Cited page, and sample Paper containing a Works Cited page.

For APA style:

(American Psychological Association)

APA is currently in its 7th edition, and the resources listed below support APA 7. Guidance on APA 6th edition is available from the Library and at the Purdue OWL website.

Help from the Library:
- The Concise APA Handbook. View this e-book online. Presents APA 7 "in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions."
- APA Citation handout and tutorial videos. Includes anatomy of article and book citations.
- APA workshop materials. Includes recording of workshop, APA for Graduate Students (Spring 2021).
Help from the organization behind APA style at APA Style Help. Includes:
- Elements of reference list entries.
- Examples of the most common works cited and their corresponding in-text citations.
- Guidance for appropriate level of citation;
- Guidance on paraphrasing;
- In-text citation checklist (PDF);
- Student sample papers (downloadable Word files and PDFs).

Help from Purdue OWL for APA style.
- Create references for Books, for Articles in Periodicals, for Electronic Sources, and more.
- Refer to Electronic Sources examples for the sources you obtained from a library database or web site.
- For guidance on in-text citations, see the Basics and further guidance on Author/Authors.
- View an APA sample Student Paper with References list.

For MLA style:

(Modern Language Association)

Help from the Library:
- MLA Citation handout and tutorial videos. Includes anatomy of article and book citations.
Help from Purdue OWL:
- Create references for Books, for Articles in Periodicals, for Electronic Sources, and more.
- Refer to Electronic Sources examples for the sources you obtained from a library database or web site.
- For guidance on in-text citations, see the Basics.
- View an MLA sample Works Cited page, and sample Paper containing a Works Cited page.