Welcome to this research guide! If you are off-campus, many of the resources featured here require that you login with your BroncoName and BroncoPassword.
With a single search you can find books, articles, and other materials on any research topic. If you have any questions, please ask us!
The GVRL collection includes encyclopedias and other reference works supporting a wide range of academic disciplines.
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary and EBL) is a multidisciplinary collection of ebooks from numerous academic publishers. Visit the help page. NOTE: Titles can be dropped by the publisher without prior notice.
This collection includes over 8,000 ebooks covering a range of academic topics. Watch a how-to video.
Full-text online access to Springer's journals, ebooks, reference works, and protocols. Subjects include biomedical sciences, business and management, chemistry, computer science, earth sciences and geography, economics, education and language, energy, engineering, environmental sciences, food sciences and nutrition, law, life sciences, materials science, mathematics, medicine, physics, psychology, public health, social sciences, and statistics.
Multi-subject database; articles from journals & other publications. Covers business, education, history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, science, and technology.
Search platform for a wide range of multi-disciplinary subject areas, including agriculture, alternative publications, biology, business, country reports, dissertations and theses, education, ethnic and gender issues, geosciences, historical Los Angeles Times and New York Times, literature, PTSD, sociology, and US and global news.
Full text access to hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers, including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Times of London, and Wall Street Journal.
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
The L.A. Times (1881-2000) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
The L.A. Times offers full page and article images; covers 1985 to present.
Contains citations to articles from more than 250 journals. Subject coverage includes all of the biological sciences with about 45% of the focus on agriculture.
Provides access to the Medline database and other biomedical sources. Medline is a worldwide Index to medical literature (including sports medicine) and supporting disciplines (including human nutrition and animal science). Look for the "Find IT!" button after clicking on the title of the desired article. Access the public version of PubMed here.
Covers current hot topics and controversial issues. Gun control, censorship, immigration, and animal rights are but a few examples. Full text content includes topic overviews, pro and con essays and articles, statistics, images, web links, and more. Browse topics.
California Agricultural Production Statistics - Top 10 commodities, County crop information, Annual Crop Reports, and more.
Census of Agriculture - U.S. agricultural production statistics.
Data Links to various U.S. agricultural commodities - At the library's STAT-USA guide.
FAOSTAT Statistics Database - Economics and Agricultural Statistics from the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization.
USDA Economic Research Service - Research and analysis covering Agricultural economy, Food and nutrition, Food safety, Global Markets and Trade, Resources and environment, and Rural economy.
USDA Economics, Statistics, and Market Information System - Reports and datasets from several agencies of the USDA, covering U.S. and international agriculture and related topics.
USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service - USDA statistical reports, surveys and services.
The Learning Resource Center and its Writing Center provide tutoring on an appointment, online, and drop-in basis. Learn more about their tutoring options from their News and Events and Tutoring pages.
They Say/I Say: The Moves That Matter in Academic Writing - Borrow this book from University Library to learn "core moves of effective argumentative writing."
The Academic Phrase Bank website provides "examples of some of the phraseological 'nuts and bolts' of writing." Created by John Morley at the U of Manchester. Please note: It is a British web site so you may encounter British spellings of words.
For more information about avoiding plagiarism, visit CPP's Student Conduct and Integrity website.
OneSearch and most of the library databases have a citation feature to help you get started. You can also create one or a few quick citations with these tools:
Or gather many references with a reference manager such as Zotero or EndNote. A reference manager can quickly create a bibliography for you, and you can choose from a variety of citation styles.
Citation tools and reference management tools are a big help but you still need to review the citations for accuracy and correct formatting. Ultimately, you are responsible for the citations that you submit for an assignment, not the citation tool.
APA and MLA are two commonly-used standard citation styles, but check with your professor before using either.
For APA style:
|
For MLA style:
|
